Motivation logo

Happiness forge from depression

The makings of a legend

By Zachary Blanchard Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

In my mid-20s I went through a chemical in balance and had a heavy depression. What I did to make myself feel better is go to the mall and see who I can encourage. Over time with trial and error. I made a saying that I use to this day to encourage myself and other people at the same time. Every time someone would ask me How I am doing I would respond I am doing great whether I like it or not. Because it was not what they expected me to say they let down there natural defenses and because encouraged and intern encouraged me. It was amazing some people didn’t understand and would ask why don’t you like it. So I had to explain that It’s a decide to be happy no matter what I feel some understand some don’t.

I try to add something fun are deep to it to amplify the effects. My favorite saying is life is like a bad little kid that’s only happy when you are not so I’m am going to be happy just to make life mad at me. So maybe it leave me alone. I also like to say you have to dictate to life before life dictate to you.

A personal belief of mine life is a matter of conflict especially in being happy. I think our perception of happiness is wrong. We need to not allow what we feel to be what dictate our life. We need to decide what we want to feel to the best of our ability. Sometimes we go through hardships and you’re overwhelmed it’s OK to go to the breaking point. As long as you can get rest and heal so you can pick up the fight again The fight will never stop but you don’t need to stop either.

i’m sure you’re wondering how did I come up with things like this through a chemical in balance that caused major depression. Well doctors were of no help they prescribe things but it really didn’t do much and therapy was a joke. What saved me was an idea about making a choice to be happy I can’t say entirely where it came from but it’s something that came to me. So I combine that with my love for helping people and that’s how my saying was born.

i’ve been using the same for at least the last 10 years now. Anytime I get the opportunity I’ll set up the conversation 90% of people start laughing and get excited in agreement with me. 10% of the people are confused wondering why Don’t want to be happy or why I wouldn’t like it. I try not to pay attention to them. Usually I explain that I’m going to be happy no matter the situation and sometimes they get it. But other than that the amount of joy I get from being able to encourage someone in a way that awkward weird and different makes my day in ways I can’t even explain

I don’t know how many people I positively affected but I do know for one moment I made people smile and hopefully forget their troubles. Some thing I always say you can’t have a good day till you make someone laugh at you. For all the therapy I’ve had and medicine I’ve been given. I feel nothing works better than to help your fellow man. I don’t have the money are the status but I have a conversation and maybe that’s all I need. a conversation to plant a seed to change someone’s life I hope for the better.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.