Motivation logo

Growth

17 December 2019

By Serra TrentPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Well... it has been a long while since I wrote any blog type stuff. The past semester has been really focused on writing school type stuff and I think I just felt too overwhelmed to even think about writing for myself.

The last post I made was in March and I was discussing my health. Now I realize that the post was written in fear, and with a lot of fear and disappointment in myself. This post is written with empowerment, more determination. In order to succeed I cannot approach health in a mindset of fear anymore. That sounds pretty common knowledge, like duh... but everyday I am learning more about how our thoughts affect our life. Negative thoughts equal a negative perspective of reality while positive thoughts offer a positive perspective of the same reality.

If I approach working out in a fearful manner, like assuming since I don't know how to workout that I shouldn't of course I'm going to procrastinate and come up with every excuse in the book. If I try being excited, like believing that I can be a person who goes to the gym, maybe working out will seem like less of a mountain to climb. Of course I have to adjust my mindset, I need to get to a place of compassion for my body where I want to take care of it, but I also need to make having a healthy lifestyle more accessible and realistic.

I told myself I wanted to write a blog post every week. HA! That's cute, I was working full-time, starting college classes for the first time, and still battling anxiety everyday Serra! I don't know why I felt the need to push myself so hard, I've been through this cycle over and over, it's probably just because I am a perfectionists over-achiever. But over the past 6 or so months I have been working on setting boundaries for work, because trying to balance work, school, health, relationships, family time, and just day to day chores is not realistic f0r me. I had to learn to make time for myself, whether that means turning down time with friends when I don't feel up to it or telling work I won't stay late because I want to go home and make dinner with my boyfriend.

With new found sense of boundaries I haven't experienced it made me realize all the ways I need to better myself, I am excited to make major improvements in my life. My anxiety often gets the best of me and I feel like the world is closing in on me so it is hard to realize all of the opportunities right in front of my face, but I am so grateful and don't want to turn these opportunities away. I am 19 years old, this is the time in my life that I will have all the opportunity in the world to GROW.

Over the past year I have realized a lot, a lot of my flaws and childish ways of communicating, a lot of things about how the world around me operates, a lot about balancing work and life and enjoyment. I don't think I will ever stop learning either, I hope I continue to see something new everyday because I know for sure I don't know enough yet.

I think 2019 was my year of setting up my productive lifestyle, now I want 2020 to be my year focused on health, mental and physical. I had so many days of feeling sick or not eating enough or only eating chips all day and I am just so over that part of my life. I want to have children someday so I want to have a strong, healthy body to take care of them. I want to create a healthy lifestyle and home life for my kids filled with home cooked meals and hikes and yoga, but It all starts now. I won't get pregnant then magically be the healthy person I want to be, if anything it will get worse. I want my boyfriend and I to be the best version of ourselves, I want us to both have the family dinners we never had and I want to be happy most importantly.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.