Motivation logo

Grounding

Bringing dreams to life

By Denisse RamirezPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Gangotri, India

I have many dreams. I wonder sometimes if I’m the only one but I’m certain I’m not. Even the Beatles said it: “I’m a dreamer...”. Through my self-enquiry I’ve had conversations with people. I remember one person shared with me that his career was something that he had chosen to do since he was very little. Yet, this person showed no passion for his career. I felt a connection with this person. It was like mirroring me years before, when I was studying International Business, but absolutely clueless of what I really wanted to do with my life.

Grounding helps us bring our dreams to life. What is grounding? Grounding is like taking a moment to check in with what is happening in our physical bodies. It is also a way to make sure that we are doing what is really important to our hearts.

I pray and I have my spiritual practice. Sometimes I feel I am more outside of my body than inside my body... if that makes sense to some. So by grounding ourselves we can speak our prayers instead of only thinking them. I’m talking by experience here! I’m an aquarius in the astrological zodiac sign and besides being the crazy one of the zodiac signs, we are also an air sign. This means, we are very analytical and rational. We think a lot. That’s why having a grounding exercise is very beneficial. When there is a lot of thinking and not a lot of action then this may cause for a blockage in the flow of energy in the body. This is a sign to move the body in a way that is freeing, strengthening, and expressive. This will allow for healing to occur.

When the flow of energy in our bodies is unblocked and moving it starts to create vitality and this, in the end, helps bring those ideas into our reality.

Creating art, journaling, making music or poetry, and dancing are some of the few ideas that help ground ourselves. These exercises help release all the emotional history and clean the mind. Nature is also a very effective way to get grounded. Nature heals. Just being in nature is grounding.

Once we ground ourselves we need to be really gentle to ourselves so we can be in a state of peace. We can do things to nourish ourselves like taking a bath with salt and talking lovingly to ourselves. Using guided meditations to ground ourselves and feel loved is very useful. There are also crystals that help ground ourselves. I always use a smoky quartz to ground myself. I never forget to clean it before wearing it!

When we are grounded we feel connected to our bodies, energized, present, aware of all our emotions, and feeling happy to be alive.

Sometimes it is darkest just before the dawn. In order to experience the light many times we have to experience the darkness. It’s like knowing the difference between an apple and a pear. We have to see them, maybe taste them to know them more. We can even learn their properties. The more we know of the apple and pear, then the more we can discern and later make a decision. We can decide if we prefer the apple or the pear. Maybe we like them both but in the end there’s going to be something that will make the difference.

Every time we are celebrating a new day. A new us is beginning the journey in the physical world. It’s a time to reflect on the new us and how different we are now to a year or even a month ago. It’s so amazing how our bodies change. Our minds change. Our life’s change.

We can always fall of track with our discipline just remember how you were before. Once a mind enters another dimension it can never go back.

self help
1

About the Creator

Denisse Ramirez

I’m a traveling yogini who loves art, nature, music, cultures, and exercise. I studied International Business and Tourism. I have traveled around the world and lived in 4 different countries. I love to learn from wise and indigenous people.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.