Motivation logo

Gratitude

Still thankful in 2020

By Leah DeweyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Gratitude
Photo by Braden Jarvis on Unsplash

2020 has been a challenging year for everyone to say the least, myself included. I had big plans to attend the University of Hawaii and move to my own place on the island. I really wanted to take this year to start my own business, support myself and continue to put myself through school. I had always struggled a lot in my home town and was finally ready to make a change. At the start of 2020 my future was looking bright: I had a good job, I was finishing up my last semester at community college and saving money to move. I was trying to keep my head down and keep to myself to push through until I could move.

As things went along it became harder and harder to save money because I was working less. I also became increasingly worried for my family as things with Covid started to worsen. I have quite a few older relatives and 5 nephews, one with an autoimmune disorder. I was stressed and anxious, and now didn’t have enough work to occupy my mind. Eventually, like so many, my company shut down and I found myself technically unemployed for the first time since I was 18. For a while it was starting to look like I’d need to do my first semester from home. My stress and depression hit an all time high around May as I struggled to find a solution.

However, after a visit and conversation with my sister, who suggested I ask for help, I opened up and shared with people about my struggles and my dreams. I was often surprised to find how willing people were to help. I found different job opportunities I might not have otherwise considered and a new confidence in myself. I had already been accepted to UH and I wasn’t going to let a national pandemic slow me down.

Come July of this year I did accomplish my dream and moved to Hawaii. Once again, I had shared my situation with people and was able to move in with a friend instead of spending more money to rent a hotel. In August I started school (all online for now, of course) and I was doing well. I was really surprised at how much help and support I received from locals here. When I moved here I only knew the one friend I had moved in with. Her and her family ended up letting me stay the entire month of July while I settled and figured out a place on the island. I made new friends quickly who helped me find a job doing what I’m passionate about. I was also introduced to a woman who would help be my coach in developing my personal business.

Things have really started to fall into place here despite the outside struggles of Covid. I am so grateful for the people that I have met, that I have maintained my health, for the opportunities that have been presented to me and this chance to really change my life for the better.

I have also been spending more time pursuing my career and ideas as writer by finding new platforms (like Vocal) to share and express my ideas. Having this opportunity to really express myself and follow my passions has helped me spend more days feeling joyful and happy. I suffered a lot from depression and negative thinking back home but I have gotten to a point where I am happy most of the time and able to look on the bright side to turn my life around.

2020 might be having some dark times but it has been the start of a new life for me and I’ll always be grateful.

healing
1

About the Creator

Leah Dewey

Hello. Welcome to my page. I have been writing for over ten years & have been published in several different formats including magazine articles, poems & full length novels. I have a BA in English Literature & a Masters in Psychology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.