Motivation logo

Good Deed

Jyoti DiClemente

By Jyoti DiClementePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Good Deed
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

In my youth, I was known by everyone as the bookworm. I read at home, at school, even walked and read at the same time when I was forced to go shopping with mom. It was my way of escaping reality. When I started middle school, I challenged myself to read as many books in the school library as I could before I graduated eighth grade. I looked up the entire list of books on the library website so I could read them in alphabetical order. I started alphabetically by the author’s last name. Upon reaching the book “the Postcard” as I opened it up to read the summary, dollar bills spilled out of the book. I picked up all the dollar bills off the floor and counted $17. My first thought wasn’t even to keep the money, but to turn it in to the librarian. She thanked me for being honest and turning the money in. She said she would check to see who checked the book out last and ask them if they left money in the book. I thought to myself that would be stupid because a child would automatically say “yes”, even if it wasn’t there money. Nonetheless, I just said “you’re welcome” and headed to class.

During my French class, somebody came in and called my name, saying the Principal wanted to see me. All the students gave that famous look that everyone gets when their called into the Principal’s office. I looked at the floor as I walked to the Principals office, simultaneously freaking out about what I did to get into trouble. When I sat across from her, she had a smile on her face. She said that the librarian told her about what I did and she wanted to commend me for being honest in turning the money in. She gave me an award that said “Trustworthy Award” on it. I swelled up inside with happiness that I wasn’t in trouble and pride that my act of kindness was recognized by the Principal. They found the student who lost the money and returned it to them.

My friends congratulated me too, but my mother wasn’t impressed. She said they made up that award and it was meaningless. I should be honest always; I shouldn’t need an award for being honest. Luckily, she didn’t put a damper on my mood, because at twelve years old, getting any award from the Principal personally is a big deal.

Side note:

People told me that as they aged, they lost their imagination because they became too well-versed with how the world really was like with responsibilities and politics. So, I should enjoy reading books as much as I could before I grew too old for imaginations. Unfortunately, they were right. Towards the end of high school, I read less and less. By the time I attended college, I never picked up a book. I tried on several occasions, but it was difficult to imagine the scenery and the characters, and it was difficult to follow the plot because I would get too distracted with planning my to-do lists and homework, and other responsibilities. The magic of reading was lost. So, to all the young children out there, stay in your imaginary world and get lost in books for as long as you can.

Another good deed that I did was pay for my coworker’s food. I could tell she was frustrated about something, so I asked her what was wrong. She said she couldn’t order any food online because she forgot her credit card and she didn’t memorize the number on it. So, I told her that I would pay for her meal, as we would be working until midnight. She thanked me profusely.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Jyoti DiClemente

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.