Motivation logo

Glow but GROW From Within!

The quarantine level up that has guided me

By Tiffany LintonPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1

Before quarantine came about, remember what it was like to be able to travel without fear of being a COVID victim? Remember what it was like to walk around and shop without purposefully keeping six feet? Or how about going out to eat without having to grab your food from the curbside? I'll say that these were things that I definitely took for granted! In March I was supposed to finally go on a two year anticipated trip with my cousin to Guadaloupe. That was the exact week in which everyone was ordered to stay at home. Ever since then I felt down. I was going through a tough break up and I wanted to see my friends, I wanted to enjoy life outside and live as freely as possible, but instead Miss Rona came about and took over. Since March, I can truly say that I've experienced a ton of growth, a solid amount of self realization and a sense of self betterment. I went from waking up sad almost every day with the blinds closed and staying on my phone just to scroll aimlessly on social media and barely eating throughout the day to waking up with a purpose. Blessed to see every day, I started a new routine. It allowed for me to feel better from the inside out. After waking up I aim to not touch my phone for a while and instead of doing that I replace it with these things:

1. Give thanks and show my gratitude for my every activity of my limbs. I'm able to speak, able to walk, able to hear, able to see, able to feel, able to even pick up my phone, etc.

2. I listen to a podcast or speech that relates to what I want to do in life. I recently started binge listening to Ashley Legg's "Slay Girl, Slay" podcast and I did some exercises she mentioned that allowed me to look into myself even more. Definitely reccomend! I even learned about Oprah's motivational story as to how she booked the role in "The Color Purple" and I have been so motivated to book some of my own just based on her story.

3. I'm such an avid reader that I would spend time reading multiple chapters in a book that currently has my nose between its pages. I am currently reading "Between Lovers" by Eric Jerome Dickey, king of urban literature!

4. Spend time with my family. I'm not sure who else has lost loved ones to this sad, sad virus, but it made me appreciate those around me even more. I try to spend as much time with my family as possible, laughing, talking, venting, watching television, cooking and heating (healthy foods) together, and more. You never know when your time will expire on this earth so make sure that you use it wisely with the ones that you love!

5. CAN SOMEONE SAY ONLINE SHOPPING? I'll be honest, I treated myself to so many things and made so many investments during this time. Set some time aside to play some of your favorite music and go shopping online. I love boohoo.com and prettylittlething.com because the quality of the clothing is great especially for a cheap price! I had a major shopping night on Facetime with my best friend and now Instagram will be seeing us styling all over. Who doesn't love to be a baddie on a budget?

6. I try to pick up a new skill weekly. During this quarantine I was able to fully cast and create a movie script, learn the ropes of forex trading, and more. You have no excuse now, so find something new and maybe even a skill that can be monetized!

7. Cleaning up like crazy. I still have to declutter certain areas in my room, but after rearranging the color of my walls, adding and removing furniture, cleaning underneath my bed, and cleaning out certain drawers, I realized how much lighter I felt. Sometimes being in a cluttered area I automaticlaly feel jumbled up inside and a lack of energy to get things done, but once I clear out my space, I feel ten times better inside.

8. Not grinding myself into dust. Sometimes I just look outside my window and meditate. I realize that you don't ALWAYS have to be on the move and while grinding, grinding, grinding. Sometimes the best glow comes from just taking the time out to maybe paint your toes, steam your face, and play some mediation music from Youtube while relaxing. Here is the one that I listened to yesterday: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eNS4BlsrYVc&t=4507s. Maybe even find a new series to watch. Entertain yourself.

9. Picking and choosing what you want to see. If you see only negativity on your social media feed when you finally pick up your phone for the day, maybe it's time to start unfollowing or muting certain profiles. there are so many accounts that express and share positive things that make me feel good and motivated when I scroll down my feed. That is how it should be.

10. Prayer and talking to God or whatever higher source you believe in. I think that the best work comes from the higher source that I look to, which is God. I feel as though once you're spiritually equipped, you can handle anything that is thrown your way. Write down your goals, pray, seek wisdom, journal as often as possible, and manifest what you want out of life!

I realize that this glow up I achieved stemmed from the knowledge of better day coming and realizing that it all starts with me and my personal habits! That's what makes me feel like I'm glowing. Once the positive work has been done internally, it will most definitely show externally as well.

goals
1

About the Creator

Tiffany Linton

Writer, Actress, Educator, CEO, Singer, if you want more then follow me on Instagram: tiffanymulan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.