Motivation logo

Gettin' Away

Summer 2020 feat. Empowerment

By Shefali Published 4 years ago 4 min read
2
^Me, Summer 2019

Obviously, much has changed between last summer and this summer, globally, but let me just say: the POSITIVE VIBES remain intact!

A little backstory: The above is my music video I filmed last summer to my single, "Gettin' Away." It was a Corona-free time, and I could go where I wanted and do what I wanted. The song is all about feelin' yourself and how "loving me is like gettin' away, everyday!" Although many of us long for those times again, summer is still going to be amazing. Because this summer, and hopefully in perpetuity, we happen to be at a point in history where we must look inward, think about how oppression has no place in society, how cruelty and abuse have no place in society. We get a deeper opportunity to spread LOVE! And I intend to use my time this summer on causes that help change the world. We see that with Pride Month, with Black Lives Matter--real empowerment and real change (although we have a long way to go).

By Samantha Sophia on Unsplash

I love empowerment. In all forms, all backgrounds, all kinds of empowerment for the oppressed. Giving them a voice, a way to speak up and be a catalyst for change. I love music with a message, clothes for a cause, shoes for world peace, murals for awareness, etc. And at a time like this, I find it very, VERY important for us to speak on empowerment. It's everywhere, if we're just keen enough to absorb it. I am a singer-songwriter & actress here in LA. I find empowerment, fodder for new music and characters, everywhere I go. It's this amazing spark of energy that fuels the next song I write. Most of the empowering subjects I speak on deal with the oppression of womxn, and the oppression of brown and black people. But there are so many incredibly worthy causes that require attention! The environment, homelessness, clean water, voting rights, immigration, and animal rights, to name a few. And these are all incredible causes. So, whatever you believe in, this just might be a revolutionary summer that fosters positive change and global growth!

For example, the following is a song I just wrote/sang regarding Black Lives Matter, from the perspective of an ally. Being a young South Asian woman, I think it's important for me to not only stand in solidarity with Black people, but also dive within my own culture and pick apart some of the social issues of colorism we face within ourselves, and discuss how we can be better allies for the Black community. Hopefully, hearing a South Asian person singing about the cause will rally up some consciousness with other South Asian people and continue to foster open discussions in the community. This is "Can't Breathe."

This summer, my girlfriends and and I want to do a weekly hangout, like we've always done. Whether it's going to a pool party, the beach, a brunch spot, a day trip to a new town, going to DTLA and checking out a new restaurant or coffee shop, etc. Summer in LA is the time to go OUT, see new things and new places. But this summer is very different. We're unable to go to whatever bar or restaurant we want to go to without worrying about social distancing or maintaining a small group of people. We're unable to casually hop into a pool with a hundred other people in it (which, now that I think about it, was pretty gross to begin with). But this is an amazing opportunity for us to (with a mimosa or two, of course), still hang out weekly and TALK more! In the hustle and bustle of life, we barely get to sit and talk to each other. And I think, by talking more this summer, we are going to be able to have open dialogue about what's going on right now in the world, drawing comparisons (but not umbrella conclusions) about world issues. It'll be a chance for us to talk and ACT on bringing about change, and we can do it together!

By Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Summer 2020 isn't cancelled. Summer 2020 is an opportunity for us to be better, to hold ourselves accountable, to spread an insane amount of joy and love to one another. Summer 2020 is about investing in the things that matter, in causes that help make the world a better place. Summer 2020 is about looking inside ourselves and starting to break down some of that societal bias that has been imbibed in us all. I will definitely be focusing on all that, and continuing to write more and sing more about empowerment. If you'd like to let me know how you're spending your summer, or causes you believe are worth investing in, DM me your plans!

Follow Shefali on IG @missshefali for more summer plans and more new music on the way.

Donate to Equal Justice Initiative , The Bail Project, Planned Parenthood, and learn more about taking action for justice at Black Lives Matter. It just takes a phone call or signing a petition to help make change.

By Tyler Nix on Unsplash

goals
2

About the Creator

Shefali

Shefali is a pop artist with hip hop and R&B flares, as well as a multi-genre songwriter. She is also a commercial/on-camera actress with a background in musical theatre.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.