Motivation logo

From Fake Fortune-Telling to Authentic Connections: Finding My Way

Chasing income or chasing passion?

By Amanda DoylePublished 11 months ago 5 min read
Like
Photo by Petr Sidorov on Unsplash.com

If you've been keeping up with my journey and you read my blog posts, you might know that back in February, I got an opportunity to read tarot on an app.

This was a very exciting opportunity for me and I was thrilled. I had been looking for something in my life to bring in a little more income at the time, but this offer was unexpected.

I totally was not expecting someone to reach out to me on Instagram and ask me to work for an app.

Like I said, I was initially super excited about this. I dove deep right away and did a lot of work right away because I was so enthusiastic. However, there came a point where I realized that this job wasn't aligned with my personal values, what I was going for in life, and my aspirations.

The way this app works is that people ask questions and you answer them with tarot. At first, I was so excited to be answering questions that I didn't pay attention to the quality of them.

Once the excitement faded, I started paying attention to the types of questions that I was getting, and the types of things that people were asking. I don't feel comfortable doing questions about fertility, and a lot of people asked those questions, but I didn't answer because it wasn't aligned with my values.

I don't really like answering questions about if you're going to get back together with your ex... I don't want to get anyone's hopes up. However, a lot of people asked that question and I had to answer it many times. It was draining.

I kind of felt like the questions were ridiculous.

I wanted to have meaningful connections - that's why I started tarot and my business. However, there was a mismatch here between that desire and the quality of questions that were coming in.

I wasn't going to find the connections I was looking for through questions like, "does ____ like me?"

It was hard for me to trust my intuition and do the right thing, which was taking a big step away from the app. I was putting in about 15 hours a week, and now I do it when I feel like going on and earning some extra change.

I had to realize that if I wanted to step forward, I would need to stop putting my time towards something that didn't feel aligned with me and didn't really pay me that much money.

There's a big internal struggle when it comes to honoring your personal values and boundaries... but it's really important to figure out how to do this, because you're the person that you're going to be with for the rest of your life. Make sure you're satisfied and in the right place.

I had to do some self reflection and see what I really wanted to do with my tarot and what I wanted to do with my life coaching. That's when I put those two things together and found tarot coaching, and I found a whole new avenue for healing, working with people, and forming connections.

This experience also helped me find my authenticity again. I was actually talking about things in my tarot coaching that I wanted to talk about. I was realigning with my values, my principles, and really - the quality of service that resonates with me.

I think especially in my professions (tarot reading and life coaching), it's important to have meaningful and transformative interactions with clients, instead of having base transactions about simple topics that have no relevance to personal growth and the healing journey.

It made me so happy to reconnect with people who actually share my visions and my values. I've done three tarot coaching sessions just today, and all three were so much better than any call that I took or any question that I answered on the app.

These people I was working with now were actually focused on personal growth. They weren't just looking for the answer they wanted.

The way that I cultivate authenticity in my tarot coaching sessions is that I try to come from my intuition always. I have a base meaning for each card, but at the end of the day, I really follow my intuition when looking for how it applies to a person's life.

I think it's so important to be true to yourself and be yourself in your healing journey, because it has such an impact on the relationships that you're creating with the people around you. If you want these relationships to be strong, plentiful, fulfilling, and nourishing, they have to have a strong foundation.

This foundation can't be built off of questions like:

  • Does _____ like me?
  • Are we going to get back together?
  • Will I have a baby this month?

These questions aren't focused on personal growth. I don't use tarot to try and find the future. I focus on rediscovering yourself with tarot.

Rediscovering my authenticity and following my passion has had such a positive impact. I've had so much inspiration and have been coming out with more material, and it's better, too.

I'm also having more business than ever. Before, people weren't even taking me up on my free sessions. Yesterday, I booked about 10 of those free sessions.

I'm so grateful that I have been able to step away from this app and this part time job in order to find my true self again and follow my passion. The business is growing, we've been attracting ideal clients, and I'm creating more of a fulfilling and successful path for myself than what I was doing before.

Self discovery is a tumultuous journey, but along the way you're going to have to find your clarity, trust your intution, rediscover who you are, and then embrace the path that you're on.

You have to stay true to yourself always. I encourage you to trust your intuition and embrace that unique path that you have. No matter how unconventional, weird, or different it may be.

For example, I feel like there's people in my family who don't accept tarot reading or life coaching, and that's okay with me. I don't really give a fuck. Trust your intuition and do what you want to do. Embrace your unique journey.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Doyle

Currently in my "figuring it the hell out" era.

Big believer in everything happening for a reason, second chances, and the fact that we're living in a simulation.

Check out my podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/semimindfulbanter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.