Motivation logo

Fresh Reverse Start

yrneH

By AbbadonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Reverse Me

Too many a times have I made resolutions for a better me, only to see them crumble within the first few days of the year. Lol, just pitiful. As I was thinking about my new wellness resolutions, my mind drifted. I thought about setting myself up to drive again. I thought about my first car, an '88 Honda Accord. The car appealed to me because I was the only one who knew how to drive it. You see, the gears were shifted by one, so Drive was Reverse, Reverse was Neutral, etc. It then hit me to think in Reverse, not what i will do, but what i won't do. I'm sure this time it will stick. I mean, why not?

I will not go to the gym twice a week. I will not go with an exercise plan and alternate days to work on each muscle.

I will not join a baseball team and compete regularly.

I will not eat better meals and cut out my sugar intake.

I will not look into my financial planning and gain focus on passive income.

I will not seek to further my education.

I will not look to further my career in technology.

I will not put my DMV record in order and take care of all my pending fines.

With that said, ask me how's it going. It has only been 14 days into 2021, but...

I've been to the gym 4 times, twice a week working arms and legs, alternating back and chest. Sit-ups, push-ups and a light run everyday to warm up.

I received an email from a Queens baseball team starting practices on Sunday, January 31st. At the end of the practices an opportunity to officially tryout for the team.

For a while now I've been seeing a special woman. Woman because she definitely is no little girl. She is a committed Vegan and quite the inspiration to better eating and overall healthy living.

After several months reviewing and studying, I began options trading and boom. I bought the April 16th Call at $35 for Intel at $300. Yesterday it boomed almost 1000%. I'm holding onto it as I see further growth.

I registered for my next course in a new field of study, Building Management. We start on Monday, January 25th.

I received an email from a former colleague about a position at my current employer. Although I'm not fully qualified, I've drafted up a good cover letter and will add myself to the hiring pool. Like the lottery says, you have to be in it to win it. With the NY lottery hovering above half a billion dollars, yes, I've been playing the lottery as well. Maybe it'll be good to be lucky as well, lol.

I've gone online and created an appointment to visit the DMV on January 23rd. I'll be handing in my license plates and paying off all pending tickets and violations.

As I write all of these scenarios, I feel amazed with all the positive news a bit of negativity has produced. At least early on, all the 'Nots' have blossomed. I believe in science as well as in my faith. The balance of understanding that there is something out there that can't be explained has always been an integral part of my being. Although I believe these resolutions are coming into fruition because of my hard work, I know there can be something mystical out there helping out. I question, why now? Why all at once? Regardless, I will push forward and see how the rest of the year plays out. Lastly, I leave you with one last 'Will Not'.

I will not submit to this challenge and win a $2500 prize.....thank you,

Henry

self help
Like

About the Creator

Abbadon

t

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.