Motivation logo

Forgetting Kindness

If kindness is forgotten, will it die, or will it fall asleep?

By Annelise Lords Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Image by Annelise Lords. Kindness Asleep

If kindness is forgotten, will it die, or will it fall asleep?

I was listening to a conversation this morning on my walk.

“I am sorry, Carla, but you can’t pick me out of your bag of who to call, because you want something from me. The last four times I heard from you, you needed a favor. Now two years later, here you are, again. And you still haven’t paid me back the money I loan you.”

“Oh, Steffie, I am gonna pay you back,” she promises, again.

“That’s what you said the last three times I asked for my money, and today makes four,” Steffie reminds her.

“But you are the only one I can turn to. You are in a position of power in your field of employment, and you always do a great job. You know you are good,” she attempts to bribe.

“Yea, I agree, I know I am. But when the receiver forgets kindness after they benefit from it, it falls asleep. The only thing that will awake it is an act of benevolence. If you want to awake the thoughtfulness you got, then you must return the gesture, not come begging for another act of kindness.”

“It’s not a big deal,” she said. “I just want to use you as a reference for a loan that I am trying to secure from my Credit Union.”

Steffie’s sudden outburst of laughter startled the birds hidden in the evergreen trees nearby, and they flutter away into the air. What I just heard put my thoughts and heart on pause for a few seconds. Then I covered my mouth to suppress my laughter when my heart started to beat again.

If you miss anything you have just read, go back and read what Carla did in the past and what she wants to be done for her again.

Then think about it.

Do you know anyone like that?

Kindness is one of the most valuable gifts anyone can give to me. And it is always returned. I encourage my children to return any acts of kindness they get. If they can’t return it to the giver, give it to a stranger. But always keep it flowing.

Acts of philanthropy have no value to some humans on this planet. I have met humans that kindness means nothing to them.

How can anyone forget the generosity that they have benefited from?

It is such a beautiful thing. It creates, uplifts, enlightens, motivates, encourages, and keeps on giving.

Acts of compassion are not bias or racist.

Humans are.

Understanding doesn’t give a damn who you are and will accept all races, religions, colors, genders, hearts, minds, souls, and you.

But humans are a picky species.

Animals aim for the heart and the affection it bestows, and they return the gesture without regard to race or gender.

In my country, we believe that anything a kind heart plant will grow.

That theory has been tested in my community and over the years by other family members and myself. Going through my neighborhood, the most beautiful gardens, whether they plant flowers or vegetables, flourish in some yards and don’t in others. Fruit trees never stop bearing in some yards and deliver fruit only once per year in others.

When I ask the owners how, they tell me all of the things they did to help their flowers and plants to grow. They share new ways to improve old ideas. Then they offer me something. Lol

I find that the more some of my neighbors share their fruits, the more the trees give back to humanity.

Check out your community and seek out the kind hearts living there.

Some of the kindest people in our world are never lacking for too long. A door, a heart, a pocket, an opportunity always awaits.

Kindness protects a giving heart. It guides, assist, and assures.

Invest some time in the beautiful and loving heart beside you. You will witness happiness that you won’t find anywhere else. As long as one kind heart exists, kindness will never die.

When we forget kindness, we allow it to fall asleep.

Don’t allow kindness to fall asleep!

Image by Annelise Lords. Kindness Awake

Thank you for reading this piece. I hope you enjoy it.

healing
1

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.