Motivation logo

Focus On The Path In Front Of You, Not The Mountain Ahead

Self-care is the only way you will be able to maintain the pace you're going at, no matter how fast or slow.

By That Psych NerdPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Source: Kyle Johnson on Unsplash

As Originally Post on Medium

The first day of kindergarten sucked for me. I was so scared to go because I didn't know what was going to happen. Would I make friends? Would the kids hate me? Would I upset my teacher?

I had so many thoughts swirling in my head of the numerous possible outcomes that could occur. Even at a young age, we are aware of the variability of outcomes for a majority of situations.

When we all are faced with a new chapter of our live's we can feel uncertain, and overwhelmed. We see this unchartered territory as daunting and frightful because we are unsure of what comes next.

I honestly never thought my first day of school would end - nor would the rest of my academic career. Of course, I wasn't thinking about the long haul on my first day of kindergarten, but it was a constant thought on my mind as the years went on.

When I finally graduated college I still felt overwhelmed. I had the prospect of college and starting a career at my fingertips. Surely after I got out of high school I would shake this feeling.

As you can already guess: being overwhelmed never stops, we simply get used to it.

With that being said, I've learned that tackling mountains requires consistency, dedication, and a hell of a lot of patience. If you find yourself struggling with patience, read my article on how a simple house plant taught me all I needed to know about patience.

The path up that mountain is long - you'll need your rest

Sleep! Drink water! Eat! Get some more sleep!

If you're like me and hyperfocus on something that pulls your attention strongly, you need to schedule some breaks. I'm going to be honest with you, over the past 3 days all I have done is write, clean, and try to remember to eat. We have to care for ourselves as we go, otherwise, we'll never make it.

Self care is the only way you will be able to maintain the pace you're going at, no matter how fast or slow.

As I'm writing this, I am silently chastising myself to follow this. You'll be happy to know that I paused writing this to get up and refill my water. Baby steps.

A big part of self-care is getting regular, restful sleep. I cannot express how important rest is for your body, mind, and mental health. According to the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, sleep deficiency, or a lack of proper sleep is a public health problem within the United States. With that being said, a good majority of readers who click on this article (you may be included!) will most likely suffer from a lack of sleep.

I am totally guilty of this. I am constantly looking to tackle the mountain ahead of me that I sacrifice sleep and proper nutrition in order to achieve my goals.

Remember to set routines to allow a moment of peace in your day

Routines are the best go-to whenever I feel run down. I know something isn't right within my inner world - I need some balance. Everything in my life cannot revolve around work or being productive.

Even the birds have to take a break at some point - productivity does not need to be constantly achieved.

Establishing consistency in your everyday life can help you achieve your goals at a reasonable pace. Routines can also be easily customized to fit your own unique and individual needs. Here is a quick routine that I do every morning: take my medication, brush my teeth, fill up my water bottle and sit outside with my cats and enjoy the peace and quiet.

This is a simple routine that fits my schedule and my personal needs. Your schedule will vary and that is okay. As long as you are meeting your own needs, there's no wrong way to make a routine.

Completing my routine each morning helps me feel centered for the day ahead. While in the midst of any routine that gives you peace, be sure to truly take this time to just be alive.

No phone, no emails, no calls, no texts, and certainly no work. We need this time to simply exist, and be one with ourselves - nothing matters outside this small window of time.

I hope you can find some peace in your day, and remember to always take care of yourself - you're all you've got.

self help
Like

About the Creator

That Psych Nerd

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

That Psych Nerd is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.