Motivation logo

Finding Your Purpose

Are you feeling lost?

By Chimdi ChimePublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
You are on your own path. 

Have you been at stage in your life where you ask yourself, “What is my purpose in life?” Maybe you are at that stage currently, maybe you haven’t gotten there or you already passed that stage. But, I believe everyone in life will ask themselves that question at some point. For me, I asked myself that question a couple of weeks back, and I didn’t have an answer to it. You might have a regular job, getting your daily bread, and are somewhat comfortable with your life, but it’s the feeling of fulfillment that drives you to want to have a purpose. I sort of followed a manual all my life, I took all the steps society and my parents deemed necessary to grow in life; but at this point, I’m not sure I want to keep climbing those steps. I want to branch out and do things I never thought I could do. I believe I’ll find my purpose that way, but you can never be too certain. I go to work everyday, I like where I work and the people I work with, but I just don’t want it to be all I do. While I was in school, all I did was centered around school. I didn’t have much of a social life. I lived, ate, and slept school. It was my sole priority which was right, but I should have had a balance to do more extracurricular activities and have a good time with friends. If I was not doing school work, I just always felt like I was doing something wrong, which was not a healthy mentality. Now, I’m not in school anymore, I feel like I need to... actually, I have to do things differently because I need to find myself, what I’m here for, and the things that make me genuinely happy while being right with God.

I’m not going to sit here and say I know what you need to do to find your purpose and stop having this feeling of being lost. But, I am going to say that taking things a step at a time helps. That’s what I plan to do. It also helps to set smaller goals in the midst of your bigger goals and just take it one step at a time to get to one goal and then the next; because, trust me, when you don’t set goals, your mind wants you to do a million things at once. If I have no plans, my mind races, it wants to do that and go here and do this, but I try to gather my thoughts, put it in check, and write things down. That really helps as well, whether it’s on your phone or on paper. I personally like paper. A wise person once told me there is no manual in life, telling you when and where to accomplish certain things in your life. It’s hard to live by that, but it’s true, I know with social media and all these millennials making it big, it can be hard to believe that you are not doing it all wrong if you are not at their level. But, everybody has their own path, their own struggles, because someone has a million dollar car today doesn't mean they may have it tomorrow. I do not wish bad luck for anybody, but everyone’s journey is different and we should all stay true to ourselves, believe in ourselves, and work towards what we want at our own pace. There is enough success and great achievements to go around in my opinion.

So, if you are feeling lost, take a deep breath, drown every thought you can think of, then think of the things that make you happy. Use that to fuel your mind and have it set right to accomplish the things you want to accomplish. Because a stressed mind results to fruitless outcomes. Finding my purpose is a journey and I am not going to be brought down because I don’t know what it is yet.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Chimdi Chime

I am a mind wanderer who wants to turn my mind travels into a reality. I am a strong woman with lot's to learn. I love to express myself in so many different ways, from my experiences and what I have learned, so I hope you love my stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.