Motivation logo

Finding My Niche

I will not be limited by a box

By Kim TownsendPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

WHOLEHEARTED LIVING

In 2008, at a free Personal Development (PD) seminar, I made my first conscious, determined career decision and commitment, ever. That was that I would work in the PD industry. Up until then, my career path was what I now call a "Lifestyle and next shiny object" path, during which I gained loads of experience and skills across many industries. I think "professionally" I would have been categorised as a "generalist." I ended up with 5 industry specific resumes, which meant that in any job, I could only use limited parts of my skillset and who I was.

Drawing from life experience and training in NLP, Results Coaching and with Dr. Brene Brown, working with people to make big changes in their lives was somewhere I could utilise all of my skills. However, following the start-up business rules, and picking a niche to work with, was always a challenge for me. I now realise why!

Even though I understand the strategy of choosing a niche or one problem to focus on, to me, it did not fit. It is because we are multifaceted beings, and I believe we need a holistic approach to any changes we make in our lives. Just working on one area at a time will impact other areas that will then need some adjustment. And, once again, I would only be using part of what I have to offer.

Years ago, I created this Mission Statement. I have tweaked it a bit, but only added "Wholehearted Living" to it today, as it encompasses all that I wish for everyone to experience. To me, learning how to embrace your relationship with yourself and others is the key to all aspects of life.

When you learn to live wholeheartedly, everything in your life will gradually fall into place. Learn to speak honestly from your heart. Let go of who you think you should be and embrace who you are. Work through scarcity and fear. Learn how to communicate and understand, and connect and love. Lean into the hard stuff, instead of blaming, avoiding, numbing or burying it.

It might sound and feel challenging, but once you start, you will wish you had started earlier. If I had started earlier, I would have been able to feel this good, for longer. It is well worth the effort.

Does it sound like something you would love to experience? What are you waiting for? Message me and let's chat.

"Life is a dance between vulnerability and courage. Dare to dance." - Kim Townsend

#meditation #stressfree #mindbodyhealth #creativity #play #kimtownsend #BreneBrown #relaxation #coaching #personaldevelopment #personalgrowth #NDIS

self help
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.