Motivation logo

Fat and Depressed Part Two: Electric Boogaloo

I used to be fat. I'm still fat, but I used to be too. Or whatever Mitch Hedberg said. Anyway, let's motivate each other.

By Mark LeasurePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Fat and Depressed Part Two: Electric Boogaloo
Photo by amirali mirhashemian on Unsplash

I actually wasn't always fat. In high school I was somewhat fit, even though at the time I thought I was fat. It's weird. Looking back I most certainly was in decent shape; not even just compared to now, like, in general I was in pretty decent shape. I was pretty good at basketball, and even after I quit the high school team I continued to play every day. Those should have been the good ol' days, but I was too busy worrying about my weight. I'm not sure what brought it on, I don't recall any of my friends telling me I was fat or anything like that. As far as I know it was all in my head. Instead of working out or talking to someone I got depressed and started eating.

Fast forward five years after graduation. I've put on quite a bit of weight but overall it's pretty manageable. Not in my head though. In my head I am morbidly obese. I get sad. I eat. Now five years after that and I actually am morbidly obese. I'm six feet and three inches tall, and I'm just over four hundred pounds as of a couple hours before writing this. I don't know why I'm writing this exactly. I don't know if I needed to declare to the world that I know I have a problem and I'm working on it, or if I need to remind myself that I will fight through this and lose the weight. I will get my brain in check and I will get my body in check. Both are valid I guess, and I probably need to do both for myself.

I'm not the same person I was five years ago, and definitely not the same as ten years ago. I'm more concerned with myself and far less concerned with myself through the eyes of others. I understand now that back in those days I was feeding myself and my mental issues. The way I felt then was in some way giving me permission to become as unhealthy as I have. Not anymore. When I looked at those scales earlier, scales that couldn't register my weight because they only go up to four hundred, scales that I knew would read close to that but probably just under, I almost went back in to it. I was immediately depressed. I wanted to slump in to the couch, feel sorry for myself, and play video games until I forgot.

I'm refusing to let this go. I will not slip further in to obesity. So far I've avoided any major medical problems associated with it but I know I've been lucky. I owe it not only to myself but to my loved ones to put a stop to it before it gets to that. I want to have kids sometime soon and I want to teach them how to play basketball, and I want to see them grow up, and live their lives. I want to be an inspiration to them not a cautionary tale. As I'm writing this I'm realizing that I haven't been myself for a long time. I haven't lived my life.

I know this is a little on the nose, but I'm just sort of doing a stream of conciousness type thing here. Normally I would write some cryptic poetry or something to illustrate how I'm feeling, but I want this to be out there. I want to speak it in to the universe. I am not giving up. I am not continuing this pattern. I don't care if anyone reads it, as long as it's out there. I will get healthy. Feel free to show me support it's much appreciated obviously, and if you want to be a dick and call me a fat ass or something you can do that too. I'll turn it in to fuel. If there's anyone reading this who is in a similar situation, or any situation, and needs some support feel free to contact me. I'm on Twitter @MarkLeasure10. We can build a community dedicated to getting healthier.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.