Motivation logo

Earthians

The birth and death of potential

By Una MörsPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Earthians
Photo by Efe Kurnaz on Unsplash

…alright, I’ll start with saying we (as a race) need help. I’m not entirely sure what kind of help, but from my point of view we… are very much lost.

And yes, this is a bit of a ranting. I’m not even sure what I expected to achieve when writing this down but I wanted others to see it, make some introspection, and maybe even give me some pointers if they would like.

Now, look, I’m not a big fan of separating people by generations, the color of their skin, their religion, or their political beliefs- I have this personal idea of an Earthian pop-culture that I hope will become a thing at some point soon, where we all acknowledge the fact we live in one land that’s going through some personal stuff right now (A.K.A.: Earth), and where we no longer see each other as competitors or enemies. I’m not delusional though. That would clearly be a challenge as we live in our own little cells, and care the most about the other individuals inside that cell (even if that cell is composed by one person alone).

But see, my main question, as I sit on a bench in a park and watch people go about their lives, is: why do we keep trying so hard to kill each other’s potential?

We’re all amazing, unique, beautiful in our own way. Each country has some sort of culture. We have an incredible number of languages I’ll never be able to speak and also languages that are universal, like music and “feelings”.

We have things that happened in the past, we teach children “History: what worked, what didn’t, and what we’ll most likely try again and still fail because yes”.

Some of us struggle with depression, anxiety, the uncertainty of what tomorrow will bring. Others, bless their heart, live every day with a veil of positiveness covering their sparkling eyes- if you’re one of those people, I envy you a lot.

And still, we’re not satisfied. We’re never satisfied. And I fear we won’t ever be satisfied. But I also think that’s fine. As long as we don’t hurt those around us, it should be more than fine! Right?

Ok, back to the point, we have so much now. Technology to help us live comfortably, an inexhaustible amount of air to keep on living on, an humongous amount of ways to keep entertained. What is it that drives some of us into bullying each other in order to make ourselves feel better- or less bad, I can’t tell-?

As someone who was alive and aware of many of the beautiful and also horrible things that have happened in the last 20+ years, I must say Earthians confuse me.

We have things, but we always want more things. We have loved ones, yet often times feel like they’re not enough. There’s land, but someone always wants to get into someone else’s land. We have our beliefs, some of us will try to force those onto others or be offended by theirs- and then get offended if they try to force it on us too. We keep on trying to control each other’s bodies. Their diet. Their choices. But we’re never happy when it’s done to us. What makes it so hard for us as people to accept the fact we can disagree with someone on something, but still respect them? Obviously, I’m not talking about coming crimes here- that’s a whole other package that I’m scared of unpacking.

Anyway, I’m sure most of us as human beings have already established that life has no meaning. It really isn’t- or at least doesn’t feel like it is- a big amazing mission, or the prelude to something greater. Which brings me to the question: why, oh why, are some of us not busying ourselves with finding a meaningful way to live the short life we were assigned at birth?

I don’t mean so seem cynical, but I have chosen to embrace cynicism as a part of my… I don’t know… personality? It was in order to protect myself. But you can be against it if you want, you have the right to; as your own person you have your own opinions and such.

I’ve been through phases where I felt like I could fight a god, or become one. I have also been through moments when I was willing and ready to end it all without even knowing the reason I felt like that. Could that have been because I have Bipolar? Yes. But it could also be bacause I was overwhelmed by the amount of unreasonable things happening in this planet while I felt powerless.

The thing is… we are all… potential, in some way.

I’m a form of power, and my potential depends on my will, mostly. I might be wrong- I’m pretty okay with being proven wrong on this- but I think we’re all a small kind of potential. And potential doesn’t entirely rely on outside factors.

So, please, if you are the base of your potential, and want your environment to be a product of you, instead of simply being another product of your environment, take accountability for who you are, what you’ve done, what you believe.

You’re amazing. We could be so freaking amazing…

That’s it. That’s the rant of a lifetime.

Help me out. Help yourself out.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.