Motivation logo

DON'T Prove Them Wrong. Prove Yourself RIGHT

The right way to achieve the success you deserve

By Nessy WriterPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Focus on the truth and not the smoke around it

My dad is a very wise man. He's taught me , in essence, everything I know about discipline and pursuing success.

Something that really made an impact on me was a comment he made just recently. It was something I felt worth sharing, because it was in response to a mindset so common among those of us pursuing our goals. This applies to any challenge you may face in life, anything you set out to achieve. It targets the cornerstone of a lot of motivational material out there.

It could be anything. Diet, fitness, some goal that, crucially, seems out of reach. That people don't believe you'll reach or don't want to believe you'll reach.

I'll prove you wrong!

How many times have you said that? Or perhaps not even out loud . In your head.

I'll prove them wrong.

I'll prove the haters wrong.

I'll show all of them how wrong they are and how wrong they were to judge me the way they did.

My father's response?

Prove me wrong? No. You'll prove something for 2 seconds.

Prove it to yourself, prove to yourself that you're right and so then prove it for the rest of your life.

We've all been there. When looking to win a bet for example. Driving ourselves to do something, fully committed to it, but only for a moment. Just to prove that we can do something. Just to prove that we're right. But it never lasts. Because it's for the eyes of other people. What happens when no one's watching?

You should want to prove it to YOURSELF. You should want to prove yourself right. You should always hold yourself accountable. If you set out to do something, you will know how far that goes, how real that is. When a change is affected in you, when you have achieved something that changes your life, you will be the person who needs to see the proof of it. It won't matter if anyone else sees it, because you did it for yourself, not them. It is something you will carry with you for the rest of your life.

You can't define what anything in YOUR life means to somebody else. You DO know what it means to you.

This whole way of thinking fits in logically with the Law of Attraction. If your focus is on something being wrong, on people you would label 'haters', then that is what you will attract into your life. More negativity. If you choose instead to focus on the positives, on reinforcing your belief in yourself, that you are right, then you will attract more of that positivity into your life. You would also be reinforcing your own sense of self belief, thereby attracting more reasons and actions to justify that confidence in yourself.

Whilst keeping this in mind, it is also important to remember that the opinion of others is not something you can control, whilst your opinion of yourself is.

You know the true value of your achievements!

When you know something's true in your heart, you have no desire to prove others wrong. These people only irritate you, when there's some niggling part of you that thinks:

What if they're right? What if I can't do it, what then?

I can't possibly let that be true, let them realise I've done it and then I can gloat "I told you so".

When you are completely certain of yourself and your dedication, your drive, well, then there is simply nothing to prove at all. Just to be.

So don't prove them wrong for a minute. Prove yourself right for a life time.

I hope you enjoyed my article and it gave you a burst of motivation to go after what you want. Do feel free to tip if you found it helpful, all support is much appreciated. You can follow my twitter Nessywriter to contact me for feedback and receive other updates on my work.

goals
1

About the Creator

Nessy Writer

A freelance writer of all sorts sharing it out with the world. Poetry, prose, advice, reviews and travel writing.

If you want to show your support and see more please follow me on Twitter: Nessywriter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.