Motivation logo

Don't Give Up Writers!

Your failure and success sit on your decision to give up or stay on course!

By Annelise Lords Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I was reading about Gurpreet Dhariwal's opinion on the Hiring Process in India on the Discrimination, Prejudices, and Stereotypes in the workplace on Instagram.

https://www.instagram.com/p/CbP01TaJSdo/?utm_medium=copy_link

My heart caught fire. I am disgusted by the cruelty and thoughtlessness of some humans.

Shouldn't my qualification be more important than how I look?

Will I be hired for my physical attraction? When did beauty become a criterion for employment?

If that is the case, why spend all of that money going to school. This method devalues education, teachers, professors, educational institutions, and all learning institutions.

All of the writers I know are struggling and must have a day job.

That is the first thing I learned when I started to write more than twenty years ago. Unless you are Steven King or Robin Cook, get a day job to suffice your income and living conditions while maintaining your dreams. Dreams are like plants. They must be watered, nurtured, and cared for if you want them to grow.

Steven King and Robin Cook are a few established authors, and they have struggled before getting to their present destination.

They, too, have met dream killers. We can see that they didn't give up.

Your writing will take you on many roads before finding the right one.

Some of the things you will meet on some of these routes are depression, disappointment, anxiety, fear, poverty, hunger, anger, failure, and thoughts of suicide. You will want to give up, while some family and friends will tell you that your dreams are going nowhere and you are wasting your time and life.

Some of us meet different things and people, but all have met Dream Killers. They come in many disguises as family and friends.

A family member told me that my books were going nowhere, so I should get a real job.

I was mortgage-free, collecting a rental income, and had a real job as a caregiver.

My life was better than hers in all of the sixteen cardinal points.

I use all of their negative comments and suggestions as fuel to energize myself. I learn from them and their life. They have no idea that their insensitivity has inspired me to keep fighting.

Yes, their negativity and cruelty are fuel for me.

Use them, writers!

Use them to energize yourself!

Use them to keep on going!

I have no intention of giving up. I encourage all writers to stay on course. Stay motivated despite the negativity facing you. Use their heartlessness as water to quench your thirst for success.

I did.

Their lives, actions, choices, and decisions give me ideas and stories. Where do you think I get my slush pile of short stories from? The more they judge and criticize, the more stories I get, and I become better. I am getting therapy through writing for free and getting paid and recognition from Medium and Vocalmedia.

Thanks to them, I have created a beautiful line of t-shirts and other clothing that I feel good about. My imagination is out of control, so is my innovation. All designs are natural, mostly from nature. I create the heart ones. I am glad I didn't give up.

#Iintend2survive no matter what they send my way. So can you, Gurpreet, #Uwillsurvive.

While my short stories educate, motivate, encourage, etc., I have enough of them for several books. Don't give up on your dream. Get a day job to finance and water your inspirations while learning from them.

Your failure and success sit on your decision to give up or stay on course.

Stay on course!

They want you to fail.

They want you to give up.

Please don't give them their wish.

You owe that to yourself.

While struggling, you never know what new and innovative ideas will fall in your lap.

If you give up, you will have nothing, and they will have everything.

I think of them as someone evil.

I was raised not to give evil what it wants.

Giving up is granting evil it's wish.

Do you really want to do that?

Thanking writers, readers, editors, and everyone else who has supported me over the years for the therapy, patience, kindness, etc., they have given me. Also, for all of the lessons and inspiration given and shown. I learn from everyone.

I planned and donated 50 cents from the sale of all shirts to Mental Health Recovery in the USA and here in Jamaica. More needs to be done about it.

Thank you for reading this piece. I hope you enjoy it.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.