Motivation logo

Dear Future Mother

A letter to myself, imagining that I’m a dedicated, hard-working, loving, kind and patient mom with Autism and Anxiety

By Talia DevoraPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
5
Dear Future Mother
Photo by guille pozzi on Unsplash

Many young adults at my age don't think about parenthood right away however, I imagine myself being a mother for many reasons: hardships I've been through, my passion for helping children, wanting to be a role model and the will to start my own family. On the other hand, my mind isn't focused on parenthood, because I don't believe that I have the right personality for it. I'm very extroverted, but also extremely introverted when I want to be. I value sleep and regular self-care, and there wouldn't be many opportunities for self-care and sleep if I was a parent. When the kids get older, that will be a different story, but it's not like I'll get to pick when I want to sleep or relax, depending on what the kid desires to do or the issues he/she is facing one day or night. That being said, I believe that I'll make an amazing parents and will have one when the time is right.

Since I imagine parenthood on a regular basis, I decided to write a letter to myself, outlining the thoughts I have and the principles I learned and want to apply to my life as a future parent.

By Mathilde Langevin on Unsplash

Dear Future Mother,

I want to do the best I can as a parent living with Autism and Anxiety. I refuse to let my disabilities interfere with my life as a wife and mother of at least one child. I'm capable of doing anything I can while I have lots of time on this earth. In the early years of parenthood, there will be bumps in the road, because that's expected. There'll also be times of joy and pleasure, especially as the child matures and the choices of parent-child activities increase.

Raising the child won't be easy, but I'll do my best so the child doesn't have a negative outcome later on. I will teach my child these 10 core values I believe in: respect, honesty, responsibility, dedication, kindness, creativity, trust, perseverance, acceptance, success and diversity. I'll also teach him/her that it's okay to fail sometimes and that moving forward is always possible. The child will have good days and bad days, and will at times lose the motivation to go to school, participate in recreation programs and attend family gatherings. But with patience, kindness and an encouraging attitude, the child will be happier. That being said, it won't always be the case and I'll need to mentally, psychologically, physically, and emotionally prepare myself for challenges like this. I'll need as many resources to help me stay focused and accountable as a mother and wife with Autism and Anxiety. I won't be able to manage everything on my own, because it's impossible for me. But it will be possible for me to make a difference in a child's life and make sure he/she doesn't go through what I've gone through in my youth.

The teenage years will be quite difficult, so I'll need some help and assistance. My teenage child will have moments of anger, sadness, despair, helplessness, stress and frustration. Going through puberty, facing identity crisis', friendship and relationship dilemmas, finding a job, passing all his/her high school classes, changes in brain development and figuring out what he/she wants to do after high school. My child won't always respect me, just like how I didn't always respect my mom and dad during my teenage years. There will be days where I'll be patient, kind and loving, and there will be days where I'll lose my cool. But I hope that I don't do or say anything that will worsen my child's mental health. Hopefully, the child will be able to gain my trust and feel that he/she can talk to me about anything. There will also be times of joy, excitement and success. The child could succeed academically and receive multiple honours rolls, excell in one or two activities of his/her choice, make many friends who are accepting and kind, date a guy/girl who will love and protect her/him, work hard at his/her job and be a dedicated volunteer at any organization he/she volunteers at. The reason why the child would turn into a successful, kind, caring, dedicated, hard-working, motivated and positive adult is because of how my husband and I raised the child. Exceptional parenting makes a huge difference in a child's life.

If I'm a mom in the first place, I'll be a mom forever. But, I'll be done raising my child. The child will be busy living his/her adult life and I'll be on the pathway to retirement. Old age will not change the fact that I was a good mother and made a difference in my child's life. I'll remember this consequential period of my life until the day I die.

I wish myself the very best in parenthood. I hope I live the most magical and meaningful life with my husband and kid(s).

Sincerely,

23-Year-Old Talia

By Bethany Beck on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to read this letter I wanted to write to myself. I hope reading this letter gave you some inspiration and some time to reflect on how life as a whole is not simple. I also hope you enjoyed reading this letter just as much as I enjoyed writing it. If you found this inspirational and touching, please give it a ❤️, share it with others and feel free to send me a tip to show your appreciation, interest and passion. To find and read more of my Vocal works such as the recent Dear 24-Year-Old Talia letter, please subscribe to me and visit my public profile at any time. Please feel free to connect with and follow me on Instagram.

IG Account: @naturalbibliophile22

By Wesley Tingey on Unsplash

#futuregoals #personalreflection #inspirational #loveyourlife #beyourselves #bekind #supportothers #familyislife #futureautisticmother #breakingbarriers

goals
5

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.