Motivation logo

Dealing With Procrastination

Somethings I do When I am Not Motivated.

By Halden MilePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Time is spent working or laying about.

Everyone procrastinates. Its a fact of life. One way or another, people often feel like doing nothing. Whether it is intentional or unintentional, procrastination is...well, you get the idea! It is so hard to write something down about procrastination!

Yet, for me, I do something different than most people. Unlike the average person whom procrastinates, I tend to be productive in a a way. Wait, isn't procrastination literally doing nothing? Well, that is the generally assumed definition the word. The actual meaning of procrastination is a delay in doing something. It could also mean an intentional lull in an action.

What is it I do whenever I procrastinate you ponder? Well, perhaps It is time I break down what I normally do whenever I feel no motivation. Firstly, it is important to note, I do not consider my moments of procrastination to be just that. Rather, I rename it according to my purposes. This is because the term procrastination generates images of laziness. Therefore, I use my moments of procrastination in a more productive manner.

1. Resting.

I embrace procrastination as a time of rest. Normally when we try to do things in one go, we then to burn out. Now, some people may have the ability to complete a large, complex task. However, for some people, a lull is often inevitable. Therefore, it may seem that some people are procrastinating. Whenever this happens, I use the moment to rest from the grind. This benefits me greatly as I do not feel overwhelmed from what needs to be completed. Once I feel fully rested, I resume where I left off.

2. Reflection.

Another thing I do whenever procrastination takes over is to reflect. It is in these nonproductive moments that I analyze what I am doing. I observe what I have completed so far of my task. That way, I can see what I have finished and what needs to be completed.

Reflection does not relate to just tasks. It also could relate to my current stage in life. I tend to look back at my past actions and mistakes, then ask myself what could have been done differently. I also look forward in my life and see what new changes await me. Or where I could end up should I continue on my present course.

3. Planning

Should procrastination rear itself my way, I have at times seen it as a time to plan. Whenever there is some sort of downturn in anything I do, I use the time allotted to plan my next move. Sure, I like to rest and reflect, but as I do so, I like to research and plan what needs completing. I do this because I want to be ready for what the task or life brings me.

I have learned that making no plans for the next step hurts in the long run. Therefore, I tend to ensure that when I am ready to make the leap to something new, I have my plans laid out. It does me no good to go out there without any sort of perpetration. To prevent any problems, I plan ahead while I am both resting and reflecting.

While this is by no means a method of tips, this was to show what I do whenever I procrastinate. Now if the reader of this article feels it is worthwhile to utilize these tactics, I have no objections. These methods have helped me in my moments of procrastination. Even as I do not consider myself a life expert, I feel a sense of satisfaction in knowing that my tips could be helpful in helping someone in their lackadaisical points of life.

Until then, for my next article, I shall rest, reflect, and plan my next move.

self help
1

About the Creator

Halden Mile

I am am American actor, author, ASMRtist, Cosplayer, Novelist, Poet, and Screenwriter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.