Motivation logo

DAY #1: 4:45 A.M. Joining the 5 AM Club

23.09.2020

By AnnePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Mornings in my apartment :)

For a bit of a background, I've always been interesting in reading self-improvement books and audios but I've never fully committed into even finishing one whole book or audio. As well as I have never committed into following all of the advice that I have been learning. I always wished I did but I would also always find an excuse not to do so.

I have made a decision that this time, it will be different.

I have also decided to make myself accountable into doing this to someone, just so I could make it work. I will message my sisters, and let them know that I am awake. Since both of them also wakes up really early, this will be very helpful for me. I have also decided to document this journey by writing about my day every night to reflect on how productive I have become to continue to encourage myself and monitor how I am going.

And here it is, Day #1 of joining the 5AM club.

Okay, so on my first I wanted to maximize my morning. I tried to really start my day at 5:00 am with my coffee and computer ready for me. I did not know how much of a challenge it was going to be to simply get up and out of my comfortable bed.

I set an alarm at 4:45 A.M.

Obviously, I did not get up. It was so early! I decided to close my eyes and rest for another 30 minutes. I honestly thought that I had fallen back to sleep for another hour but when I opened my eyes again, I found out that it was only 5:05 A. M.

So then I thought if 20 minutes felt like I had already rested for a whole hour, I can do so much things if I got up.

Without closing my eyes anymore, I got up, drank a glass of water, turned my laptop and the kettle on, washed face, ate cereals and by 5:20 I am ready to work on my computer and drink my coffee.

From 5:20 AM until 6:00 AM I was stuck in my desk studying for my course. Normally when I study I would be on my phone every 15 minutes to either look at photos on Instagram or watch funny videos or look up songs to listen to. Surprisingly I was focused the whole 40 minutes studying.

At 6:01 AM, my personal trainer messaged me that he is at my door. So from then until 7: 10 Am, I was working out.

After my workout, I cleaned the house up a little bit. I swept the floor and washed dishes, and then jumped in the shower to get ready for work. By 8:20 AM, I left the house.

I honestly thought I would be more tired than how I felt but it felt more like an energizing activity. I had so much more energy than my normal day!

At work I could feel that my body was in a little bit of pain because of my morning work out but I still felt upbeat and my mood was still very good.

By 5:00pm I finished work and walked home.

The walk takes about 30 minutes. I used this time to power walk and listen to my podcast.

When I got home I had dinner and decided to write about my whole day.

This is day 1 of me waking up at 5:00AM for the next 66 days to make it a habit and be more productive in taking steps towards my goals.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Anne

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.