Motivation logo

Cutting a path to success

An artist's life long love affair with scissors

By B CrawfordPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
2020 CUT CREATIONS BY BRITTANY CRAWFORD

Cutting a path to success

For as long as I can remember I have wanted to forge ways to use my creativity as a means to support my lifestyle. At every turn of that journey, scissors have been a necessary tool for my life. I don’t think I can recall my very first time using a pair of scissors but I distinctly remember them always being ready for whatever life threw at me that needed cutting. If you were born in the last 40 years like me, you probably had one of your first experiences cutting with safety scissors. One of my most distinct memories as a child goes back to making hearts with safety scissors from construction paper. However, as I grew I began to discover the wonders of what could be created from these two sharp pieces of metal beyond the scope of paper hearts.

Fast forward.

In middle school, I began develop a sense of the fact that I am an artist and started throwing myself into different mediums of art. Each phase of my artist development required many sets of tools and skills, some more complex than others. However, there was one tool that I always kept nearby just in case there was the need for its use…the scissors. After all, one never knows if you may need to cut paper, cut a hole and a piece of string to tie together a paper Mache mask, cut flowers to glue on a decorated card, or cut fabric to sew together a new outfit.

Fast forward further…

By the time I reached high school, I’d like to think I somewhat mastered the skill required to use scissors. However, that was quickly proven wrong when I began learning how to sew my own clothes. My mother taught me sewing by taking me to the store and purchasing patterns that we chose from a big book with a variety of clothing styles. From there we would use scissors to cut out the pattern carefully according to the size that fit us the best. Next, we needed to pin down the cut pattern pieces to the fabric we chose and cut those pieces as well to create the garment. If there was anything I learned during this phase of my artist development, it was that a tailor’s scissors are one of their most prized assets beyond their sewing machine. Thus, my everlasting relationship with the cutting sheers began.

Fast forward just a little bit Further …

After completing my own fashion show in senior year, I thought I was a pro with cutting and I definitely thought I knew scissors. Though the fact remains that I am probably better cutting with a pair of scissors than most, I realized early on how complex and attention to detail many of the jobs that require them are and I still needed to grow my cutting skills in order to become successful in my own craft. As time stretched passed high school, I worked on sharpening those skills. I also began learning about the variety of scissors and various other cutting tools that can be used to improve my fashionable projects.

Halt at current day …

After taking a short break, I was inspired to grow my love of fashion into a business. At this current time one of my most prized possessions remains my scissors. In fact currently I am in love with my gold handled scissors that were of the last gifts from my late uncle who wanted me to continue to succeed as a designer. I was in need of new pair of cutting sheers, and he made sure I had a new pair. It is through this single gift I am inspired to continue to create and design even through the tragedy of a lost love one.

I will continue to cut away at life until I reach creative success.

goals
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.