Motivation logo

Courage Over Comfort

A New Beginning

By Christine AlleyPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I will valiantly push forward. Past my insecurities, fears, and self doubt. I will find a way to be the best version of myself every day. Some days that will be easier than others, but deep down I will always know just how much I am capable of. Sometimes that will simply mean acknowledging that I am enough, with whatever I accomplished that day.

I will remember the key elements that I know contribute to my own personal well being - physical activity, my bare hands in the earth, gratitude, and, right now, studying to my fullest capacity on any given day. I will always remember to laugh. Most importantly, I will remember to be able to laugh at myself. Mistakes are great learning experiences and when you're able to laugh, they also become great memories. One thing my sister always reminds me of, which I am extremely grateful for, is that forward movement is forward movement, no matter how slow (it is best to take your time, not only to enjoy the little things more, but to practice being in the present moment and always, always quality over quantity.

There are a few areas in my life that will require a little more effort than others. One of those areas is continuing to remember to graciously accept help and compliments from others. I will no longer brush off compliments with a sarcastic comeback, one that is always at my expense. I will accept help knowing it takes great strength to be willing to do so.

This year I vow to have more discipline with the little things as well as keeping more promises to myself. I will also do more of the little things that make my heart smile. To me, this means waking up an hour earlier to drive down and get in the ocean at least once or twice a week. I also vow to be a better friend. To reach out, even if only by text, to see how a friend is doing. I've gotten to a point where I isolate myself so much- even more than necessary for covid- I don't even make the effort to check in on the people that mean so much to me. The people in my life make the world a better place and help to make me a better person.

As I get older, I realize the importance of making the effort to try new things. Today I am taking the first step in that venture. I have always enjoyed writing and have had it as a goal of mine, for some time now, to submit something on this site. I finally got up the courage and stopped procrastinating- I had to start somewhere. Writing is a valuable outlet for me.

Here I get to my most important goal, above all else this coming year. I will choose courage over comfort, I will learn to step outside my comfort zone more and more. Courage over comfort has become my new motto(and possibly my next tattoo). I have already begun to fully embracing this new motto of mine. By being courageous, I will slowly begin to do all the things that I've always wanted to do, and by doing so, I will hopefully encourage others to do the same and to fully let their bright beautiful selves shine.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.