Motivation logo

Change the Viewfinder

Alter your perception.

By John BrothertonPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

There are always going to be dark days & negativity, unfortunately that is just for some reason the current trend, it is like a pre-determined part of growing up in this day and age, and I know it can seem that there is little you can do to avoid it. The bills keep dropping on the door mat, your car breaks down, your dog s!@#s on the carpet. These are just facts of life right?

Well yes they are, however, how you perceive or view them isn't, let me take you back on a little trip down memory lane with me, come on we can hold hands and skip the lot!

Well about two years ago, maybe more don't quote me on it, I was diagnosed with OCD & severe depression, a complete double whammy! This meant that I pretty much looked at the whole world in a negative light, everything that could go wrong was going wrong, and every tool that meant I could fix it I just did not have. Or so I thought. This changed when I began watching inspirational people on Youtube, you know the ones; Tim Ferriss, Clarke Kegley etc, etc. After watching these, I decided that I would get out into nature on a rainy day at first and instead of looking at the day as something dark, gloomy, and wet, I would give changing my viewfinder (not a literal one!) a go to see if I could instead interpret how the rain was affecting nature, how it was nourishing the plants, giving the trees a good bit of hydration, how it just glistened on the petal of a flower, turning it from a weed into a work of art. All in all how the day could be viewed as a positive.

The minute I began doing this, the whole world seemed to get more visible, I mean literally, like the man upstairs grabbed the remote and cranked up the brightness, I assume we are like TV for him up there? This meant that on the days that followed, I noticed more and more things, flowers, people, butterflies that had been there from day one that I had just not noticed because I had my negative lenses on. The minute that you begin to have that almost epiphany you realise that you can also change those nasty moments in life before they happen, for instance your dog dropping it like its hot on your carpet could be avoided by just taking him/her out for an additional walk or a slightly longer walk than previous, the added bonus is that you don't have to call in the rug doctor and you also get to notice even more beauty!

This is not a complex process or a radical way of thinking, it is when you do it, just common sense.

My point is, I guess, that if you see the world through negative eyes, you are constantly feeding your brain depressive lies! Seriously, all you have to do is switch that perception just for a minute and experience your surroundings for a while and I bet you will begin to feel better almost instantly. I know you are probably feeling slightly skeptical of this idea, however, what do you have to lose by trying? The picture above was captured on one of my transitioning days, It is probably one of my most favourite photos, the droplet should be just a puddle on the floor by the definition of gravity, yet it is holding on strong just like you have to! This photograph is one I would have missed had I had my negative lenses in place and that right there would of been a damn shame!

So please please, please change your viewfinder and see what beauty you can find!

happiness
Like

About the Creator

John Brotherton

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.