Motivation logo

Challenge Accepted

Trying to stay active in quarantine

By Dear MischkaPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

I have no idea what to write about…

I tried looking for inspiration… but ever since this whole Covid-19 thing started… my mindset has changed.

I’m exploring more self-reflection, and realizing that things that I used to think mattered, are really not that big of a deal, and things that actually matter, have been things I have set aside for later… the important things, should never be set aside for obligation… it is sad that I thought this way.

So, I am going to do an exercise with myself, and just throw it out there for anyone interested.

These don’t need to have a specific timeline, but and should never feel like pressure. Just something to try.

These are challenges to personal growth.

By Nong Vang on Unsplash

Reading Challenge: Read one book that you struggle with.

This might not be for everyone, but I enjoy challenging my own ways of thinking, because I feel like disagreeing with something, is also exploration of self, and getting to know one’s own value system.

I few that might be options for people looking to explore them.

“The courage to being disliked”

“The God delusion”

“Moonwalking with Einstein”

“The convoluted universe (volumes 1-5)”

“confessions of a sociopath”

***This is not to discredit the authors. I am just thinking of books off the top off the top of my head that equally made me interested and also uncomfortable.

I good beginner book for people who want to explore, but aren’t as crazy as myself, should just try

“A billion wicked thoughts” It serves the same exploration purposes, without having to be sooo heavy.

By Austin Chan on Unsplash

Fear Challenge: Face your fear

This can be thorough, or just a light dip in the fear pool… make a list of things that you might be a afraid of, and if you can face it (while remaining in quarantine) make the attempt.

One of my favorite fears to chase down, with regards to this, are the food-based fears. Especially because it is a strange fear that we develop in childhood that can carry on through our adult years. SO, if you can. Think of a couple of foods that you think are disgusting and make a list of why you dislike them.

(This also being said, if you have specific dietary restrictions due to moral reasoning, I do not count this as fear-based food avoidance. For example, I am not fully vegetarian, however, I struggle with eating things that had a face. I will still have imitation meat or what I consider "faceless animal products", but I would prefer to live off broccoli and rice, if I could… this also has nothing to do with PETA of any other zealous organizations pushing that agenda… I just don’t like food that had a face)

Any ways, if you can… try one food item that is weird that you have never tried.

I enjoy going to food markets for this purpose. Especially once all this craziness cools down.

But even going can buying food where you can’t read the label can be a fun adventure. I is actually how I found my new favorite brand of ramen. I just grabbed one bag of each kind, in the Asian food section of the grocery store, and gave them all a try.

This might sound like crazy talk to some people… and that is ok, I get it… I just think that food-based fear is a really easy one to conquer.

Getting a feel for it, makes you less afraid to face the bigger fears.

By Jared Rice on Unsplash

Physical challenge: Try to pick a goal, and attempt to push your body’s limits

This is a tough one. I am at quite a few disadvantages, and for a really long time I held myself back a lot of because of it… how do I make a long story short? … I am disadvantaged in more ways than I would like to admit… I have brain damage, and nerve damage, from surviving a very severe case of Viral Meningitis when I was a baby… as a result, I have absolutely no balance, and my muscles are more tense than a normal person. My lack of balance makes activities like yoga incredibly difficult, and the irony is that Yoga would likely be the best thing for that damaged nerves and tension in my muscles.

Despite my genetic disadvantages, making the goals small makes it easier.

Heck it could be something as simple as being able to touch your toes without hurting yourself. That is enough.

The point of the physical challenge is to not let your mind limit your body. That limitation is what will ultimately hold you back.

By Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Writing challenge: Write for 30 minutes a day.

This one might make some people crazy, but this is a tough one. For example, most of the things that I write about aren’t anything skillful, I am just simply practicing to appropriately express “word vomit”

While free writing the general goal would be to learn how to express ideas more thoroughly and clearly. This is something that should be simple, but exploration usually equals complication.

My hope is that I will learn how to become a little more on target as a result.

It is also about keeping a healthy active mind, in a time that feels like time is moving slower, and things just feel weird an out of place.

We can leave it here for now. While I am mostly just having fun trying to challenge myself, I think that this kind of thing might be helpful for others that are trying to stay sane while we go through this.

By Victor Garcia on Unsplash

goals
1

About the Creator

Dear Mischka

I am a new writer. All of my writing is intended to be explorative. I believe we learn best by interacting with what we are learning from or what we are working through.

There is value in both fantasy and reality.



Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.