Motivation logo

Can a Night Owl become an Early Bird?

Can changing your schedule help build a habit?

By Terri AllenPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

Is it possible to completely change your sleeping pattern in order to become the best version of yourself possible? It is currently 9am in the morning and I just started writing, I ate something for breakfast (which I never usually eat) and I have a bottle of water on my desk next to me (which I never drink)

I am trying to become the best possible version of myself and I feel like this is a good start. I am going to try for a week when I am not working my main job to try and see what a week as a freelance writer would be like.

Typically I work a night time routine when I write because my work hours typically have me starting in the afternoon and finishing at night. On my week off I want to try and implement a writing schedule that I can use from here on out, if it works out anyway.

The ‘getting out of bed’ was definitely the worst part of my morning so far I can’t lie. I cheated a little bit and texted my best friend before I went to sleep to phone me at 8:30am to make sure I was out of bed. She pulled through for me and I must admit that her phone call was the only thing that actually convinced me to get up, I was lying in bed contemplating my life choices until the phone started to ring.

I was going to listen to music while I worked because I am a Kinesthetic learner type, which means that I learn by “moving, doing and touching”. I feel like learning what type of learner you are will help you build the perfect schedule for you, quick tip. But instead of music I opted for a writing podcast, I feel like having the voice of a person who is going through similar processes to me would give me motivation to get to work. I feel like having this podcast on will also help me to become a better writer because I am learning about other people's processes. Another thing about this type of learner is that I need to take frequent breaks in between working but I want to try and not do this.

The way I am going to avoid taking frequent breaks is that every 100 words I write I get to focus on the podcast for ten seconds, giving it my full attention, before getting back to work. This allows my brain to focus on something else without removing myself from my work space.

Not everyone can just randomly change their working schedule but you need to be very determined to try and figure out what would be best for you. This can mean that you operate on a trial basis, try something one day and if that doesn’t work for you then try something else. Just give every option your full attention so you can be sure what works and what doesn’t.

I heard a theory that it takes an average of 66 days to create a habit, the full theory is that it can take from anywhere between 18 to 254 days. We always want to be able to pick up a habit and be immediately good at it, but that’s not how it works. You need to put the time into doing things the hard way if you want to see it all come together.

There’s a multitude of things I want to spend this week working on including but not limited to writing articles for my Vocal page, working on my word counts for my three works in progress and making fuller outlines for these works. I also need to be better at promoting my work on my social media. If you want to keep up with me on my socials I am on Twitter, Instagram, TikTok, YouTube and Facebook.

Setting myself daily goals for what I want to accomplish is going to be a great way for me to work towards specific targets each day. It’ll be up to me to decide how I am going to work towards these goals each day but as long as I get to the end result then the journey doesn’t matter as much.

As long as I am taking steps forward then I am closer to the end then I was the day before.

self help
2

About the Creator

Terri Allen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.