Motivation logo

Breath

It's okay.

By RMcKittrickPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Picture Taken from My Balcony, by Zoya McKittrick

12/21/2018—I've lived in Pennsylvania for three months now after living in Central Illinois and Greater Buffalo area in New York the past several years. I was accustomed to the bitter winds and blizzard-like conditions that those states offered in abundance. So while one evening, on a warm December day in Pennsylvania, I sat on my balcony and checked the temperature on my smartphone, it flashed 60 degrees Fahrenheit across the screen, and I thought to myself, "This is unusually warm. I can't believe it's almost Christmas and it's this warm outside!" I then decided to take a break from my busy day of cleaning and allowed myself to take in the sight of the distant tree-covered hills, and the busy sounds of passing cars on a nearby highway.

The scent of wet, muddy, Earth soothed my worrisome thoughts, as I allowed myself to breathe deeply for the first time in a long time. It was a fresh reminder that after the rain, the Earth does become clean again, and as the Earth washes itself, our fragile minds do the same. My head became clear as I breathed in the freshness of the after-rain air. My soul was light, as if what negative entity had nagged at me had been vanquished. I felt free and weightless.

It's these little moments I find to be still and just observe; listen to the birds, and cars and just let the Earth sing the harmonies it was meant to. I've always felt at peace in nature, when the world is how it's meant to be and I just listen to the wind whisper it's song to the trees and watching the trees dance to it's music.

Life is too busy, it's too fast. So at times I have to force myself to walk. I begin to understand that my hurdles are not the great mountains I perceive them to be, but only small tree-covered hills with foot-paths etched to guide me where to place my feet; one after the other. So sitting on my balcony I allowed myself to take control of mind and let the pictures become clearer, to understand that I don't have to climb so hard, but yet, just walk. Hurdles are always going to be temporary, especially once you recognize what they are and you figure out how to deal with them accordingly.

Life can be made so much easier if we just took a moment to slow down and gathered our thoughts. Let the wet air wash away the negativity like water washes away dirt, and allow the positive vibes to flow out of you as a tidal wave crashing into new beginnings. Feel the weightlessness of the world as you start to breathe again, and let your mind come to focus on things that are important to you the most. Why get lost in the hustle and bustle of life when it can be so draining? Give yourself permission to step onto your balcony and breath.

I came back in after about 10 minutes feeling refreshed, rejuvenated, and stronger. Even when we all have hurdles to over come, I have realized the importance of taking time to be with yourself and breath. The power it gives is beyond compare and can only be recharged by breathing again; realizing, for me, that the moment of fresh, calmness was a gift. And a great gift it is when you can just sit on a balcony, see the life of the world pass by and be at peace within yourself.

self help
Like

About the Creator

RMcKittrick

I love art, animals, writing and history.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.