Motivation logo

Body Image

Don’t shame me, our bodies are great the any they are.

By Farren TurnerPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
There’s no “Ideal”, We all are Ideal!

I could say a lot of things about this taboo topic of body image.

I say taboo because no one likes to bring it up.

Everyone talks about it.

Everyone thinks about it.

But are we real about what goes on? Do we let people openly discuss their struggles....

From my experience there is a missing link between what we see on social media and the reality of bullying that is taking place ..... telling people they don’t look good, or the opposite, telling someone they like the way they look in a sexually harassing and abusive way.... this is all still body image bullying and leads to insecurities and unhealthy habits towards LOVING our bodies.

Social media has totally altered our ideas of body image and what the norm is. It has altered our idea of what is socially acceptable, partially because people can hide behind their device and say what they want as a bully.... And I have experienced it all!

I never truly realised how much I cared about they way I look and how much it affected me until I was in a state of desperation to love myself, due to the hateful words and actions of people from a young age and being bullied daily trying to do something I love. Personality wise I love the person I am and the woman I’m becoming. However physically I couldn’t be further away from “love” as I am right now. Someday‘s better than others, some days great! But those days that are bad are REALLY bad. I think every woman and man (I guess) can relate. Hormones, Relationships, Enviroments and the people we surround ourselves with play a huge part in the way we see ourselves.

Growing up in a dance studio, in limited clothing, Leotard and tights/shorts, skimpy or 2 pieced costumes, staring at myself in a mirror for hours on end has played a huge part in my body confidence issues. For one staring at yourself in a mirror for hours because it’s needed to improve is for sure soul destroying a times. Seeing the girl next to you at a size 8, super petite looking “beautiful” in her attire compared to size 12,curvy you makes you feel like an elephant. Throughout the Years I did everything I could to fit the “dancer” body becuase I loved to dance and knew I wouldn’t be took seriously unless I was “skinny”. My college years being told daily you need to “tone up”, “loose the chub or your talent means nothing”. When you want to accomplish your dream so much, you take all of this on with thick skin and try to change to succeed. Not realising your destroying yourself.

How wrong was I...now today, I embrace the fact I’m NEVER gonna be the typical skinny girl, the smallest, most toned in the room. Factors about my genetic make up I can’t change 100%, hormonal and metabolic medical reasons to why I am the way I am (Which is enough :) ) What I do know is I can be the most talented, flexible, strong, powerful and well roundered performer in the room. Those things mean more than the size of my body ever could. I also know the more I embrace me and become comfortable with my body the stronger I become. Not easy though right... wish it was that simple.

Why not simple, you may ask?

Well... (breathe Farren, breathe) society nowdays is so negative, we are taught how to rebell more than love, be selfish rather than selfless and careless instead of caring. Kindness is a huge thing, powerful infact. From tiny girls, to grown women there’s factors the whole way down the line that will beat our inner conscience everyday. We get given a compliment and we don’t know how to react because were training our minds to destroy our bodies, hate ourselves and everything that makes us, us. Wrong, so, wrong, however until more kindness, is spread and nasty egos, online trolls and sterotypes are destroyed, more people are gonna struggle.

As my wish for today, I urge you to truthfully find 3 things you love physically about yourself, and compliment someone. Never assume a body type proves the time of person someone is. We all have our reasons. Spread Kindess, create positivity, spread the love.

Love yourself, You are everything you want to be and more! <3

“If you can't love yourself, How in the hell you gonna love somebody else? A-amen“ - RuPaul.

self help
1

About the Creator

Farren Turner

Just a Girlie living life, chronically inclined. Join me on my journey of self confidence,exploration, adventures,struggles & success.

Let’s connect through our stories ,lets educate make a difference.

@farren_turner

@Chronically.Inclined

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.