Motivation logo

Becoming Who We Are

Our Choices Make Us.

By Lydia CruzPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Let me start by telling you that I have always been told exactly who I have to be and who I was suppose to become. I grew up in a strict home with a single mother and five other siblings. My mother always held really strong standards for me, like she only expected me to get A's in school and anything less was worthless and embarrassing. All I heard growing was how I was going to be a great nurse, doctor, or lawyer and simply someone with some sort of college degree. Well, that was simply all that I didn't want to become.

In this dark wonderful world people have to give themselves or search for motivation to keep in mind that there is more to live for than their jobs. My every day motivation is my son and providing for all his needs and wants. When I found out I was going to become a mother my whole way of thinking got turned upside right. I no longer felt unmotivated, lost, bored- once again I started planning my life.

I found myself again with my child, others find themselves through friends, family, accomplishments, or hitting rock bottom. In my opinion it doesn’t matter how you find yourself as long as you do. Most importantly, as long as you keep fighting for yourself until you become the person you want to be. As much as I would like to say that motivation is all we need to complete our dreams, its not, its only part of the equation.

I haven’t reached who I’ve been wanting to become in life, but it takes a lot more than simply wishing to be better.

First of all, you need to have a clear or decent image of who or where you want to be in the future. After you have an idea of who or what you want to be, you have to set goals. Realistic and as many goals as necessary. I know that its a lot more difficult than said, or in this case written, but you knowing who or what you want to become is the very first step.

Second of all, you to need realize and admit to every obstacle that is your way, especially if it's you. Shocking, right?! Usually when we think about obstacles we think about exterior things but hardly ever interior. For example, let's say your goal is to be fit and you have the determination to do it. You go to the jam and drink plenty of water but you don't see any changes. That should be enough right? NO! Going to the gym and drinking water is only part of it, another part is watching what you eat. Let's say you go to the gym 2 to 3 times a week and drink plenty of water, but the weekend comes around and you consume a bunch of unhealthy or fatty foods and then Wednesday comes around and you went to the gym on Monday so it must be OK to eat a 1/4th of a cake or pie and sneak in a snack before bed. Then you get on that frightening scale and see that you haven't lost a single pound in over 2 weeks. So you start thinking about your workout routine and how much you're spending on that membership for nothing but do you ever stop to think of what you did to stand in your own way of success; goals regardless of the situation take a whole lot of discipline and reflection of oneself. In better words do not expect change if you are not willing to change.

Ultimately, once we have figured out who we want to become, what our obstacles are, we can finally focus on moving forward. Just remember that if you are not willing to change and fight for yourself, no one else is going to do it for you. You have to love yourself in to be your greatest self.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Lydia Cruz

Short. Intelligent. Beautiful. Bilingual. Write about many different topics all of which interest me or are about me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.