Motivation logo

Becoming Happy

Find your happiness and discover your true self.

By Lisa BourgeaultPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

Becoming truly happy is something I feel that everyone struggles with at one point or another. Happiness is that elusive topic that people can spend their whole lives searching for.

I used to think I was a truly happy and positive person until I started feeling deep sadness for no particular reason. I hated myself for being sad when I had no reason to be. I kept thinking that something was wrong with me and I had no right to be sad, but yet nothing changed. I was in my sadness too deep, and it felt like I couldn't break free.

When something traumatic happens in life, sometimes it's hard to shake that depressed and sad feeling. For me, losing my dog of 10 years was my breaking point, and shattered my whole life. We all know we won't be around forever, but it's especially devastating when you lose your best furry friend; that was over two years ago and I still feel like crying every time I see a picture, or talk about her.

In time, tragedy can and does become easier to live with, but it's never forgotten.

Thankfully, I had an amazing support system at home that helped me push past the pain and try to move on with my life. I didn't want to waste my life being miserable and sad.

Besides having a good support system from my boyfriend and family, I did a lot of other activities to help my mental health.

When you're sad and dealing with bad thoughts, if possible it's important to think about what used to bring you joy. For me, I made a list of activities that I liked doing, and tried to incorporate those things into my daily life. Physical activities like swimming, dancing, walking are very good mood boosters.

Meditation is also something that I do daily, which helps immensely. When my boyfriend suggested I try meditation, I was so skeptical, and never thought I could do it or be interested in it. To be honest, I thought it was stupid, but I'm so glad I decided to give it a try. Meditation is a great way to unplug and give your mind a rest, but in a controlled way. I highly recommend the Headspace app; it's filled with hundreds of meditation courses, and is guided so it takes your mind on a journey.

Honestly, you need to find what works for you. Everyone is different, and will be happy with different activities. I've experienced firsthand how sadness can derail your mind and your life, and it's not worth it. There's no shame in asking for help, nobody expects you to handle the world alone.

Take it one day at a time and find your joy. Life is what you make it, and it can be so beautiful and worthwhile.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Lisa Bourgeault

I love to be creative. I've always been a big fan of writing and now one of my new hobbies is photography! I love to learn and create and if I can inspire others along the way, all the better!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.