Motivation logo

Becoming an Adult Far from Everything—Pt. III

Stories of a French Student Living in Canada

By Jean 🦅Published 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
CLL Field, Lévis, Qc, Canada

One year ago, I took the plane to cross the ocean. Six hours later, I was in another dimension: North America.

Quite a big deal for an 18-year-old boy who has never lived far from his family. I was unconscious. I did not even know what I was doing… However, I did it.

I left my family, my friends, my childhood and all my memories at the airport for this new life.

Chapter 3: Little-By-Little

As winter invaded Canada and the football season ended, it was the moment for me to go back home for a month. I took the plane back, and had one of the best time of my life. Christmas, New Year eve, and a wonderful trip to Budapest with someone I loved more than myself. Budapest is a wonderful city, just like every single capital in Europe. This month of « Canada break » was quite important to me, because at that time I felt like I could not continue living there anymore. I was breathless, I needed to see my family, my friends, find again my landmarks in the city where I grew up.

That month went pretty well, and time flew by instantly. It was hard to go there again, but I had to do it, because my head was full of dreams I could only fulfill in America.

We started the offseason with one goal: take on weight, and become as powerful and as quick as possible. I loved that time of the year, it was quite calm, and I had anything to think of but my courses and my lifestyle. If there is one thing I learned at that time about America: there are no chances for those who don't work.

America rhymes with do or die.

No one will help you, except if you deserve it. Only the performance is rewarded. That is why I decided to put all my efforts in what will make me a better man. I tried my best in class, in the weight room, but it was not enough.

Sometimes, even if you think that you are at your best—you’re not. Even if you think you gave everything—you did not. You can always do something more.

Unfortunately, I understood that too late in the winter session. When I learned that I failed one of my courses and that I couldn’t play the 2018 season with the Faucons. (Fortunately, I could take a summer course so that I would play the 2018 season.)

Someone I admire a lot once said:

“If you want to be the best, you can’t take the path of least resistance. Every morning, you wake up, and your mind tells you it’'s too early, and your body tells you you're a little too sore, but you've got to look deep within yourself and know what you want and what you're striving for.”

- Antonio Brown.

AB is an NFL wide receiver, the embodiment of determination.

Very often, the best people in their field don’t have the past you think they have. Way to self-success is definitely harder than everybody thinks. It requires dedication, commitment, and consistency.

But it doesn't mean you have to reach your goals as quick as possible. In fact

"Progress is not an illusion, it happens, but it's slow and invariably disappointing"

- George Orwell.

Just take your time.

Make every moment, and everyopportunity count.

Sorry for the one-month break. I’m trying my best to write a little every day to publish a new chapter every week.

As always, please contact me for any advice, suggestions or requests:

E-mail : [email protected]

Instagram : jean_bidaux

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Jean 🦅

20 yo football player

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.