Motivation logo

Awkward? I Don't Know Her

Wait, who?

By Amanda DoylePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Sean Driscoll on Unsplash

I was in a boy's car recently, on the way home from a date. He was dropping me off and there wasn't much to be said at this point, but the atmosphere was comfortable. We started talking about how things went on the date, and he said he tried his best to not make things awkward.

This got me thinking about awkwardness and being uncomfortable.

How do I avoid awkwardness? I just choose to avoid it. I don't allow myself to become awkward or clam up or any of those things that make the atmosphere uncomfortable. I'll crack a joke, lighten the mood.

I've made a conscious decision to not let first dates, etc. get awkward because I make a decision that I'm not nervous. Your brain can make these decisions sometimes, I swear. Some days I can't get out of bed, but I can control the amount of control I have in social situations. It's weird how mental health and all of that junk works.

I was given a tremor in my hands (and sometimes the rest of my body). It doesn't affect much I do, but people notice it, and comment on it. I'm frequently asked if I'm nervous, or even worse, I'm told to calm down. With my mindset of being chill and not letting any uncomfortable vibes penetrate my bubble, I am calm. I'm not nervous at all. My hands just shake - no biggie.

I encourage you to try your best to avoid awkwardness. Wake up tomorrow and decide that it's not going to happen for you anymore, that you'll walk into all situations with confidence and you will radiate a comforting vibe. If you believe in something, it can come true. It's called a self-fulfilling prophecy. If you believe in something, you're influenced to act a certain way, and the belief will emerge in your life.

You may be reading this and think it all sounds like junk. You can't just decide to avoid awkward situations. They're the improv of the script, you can't write them or edit them out. So if I was an improvisation actor on the stage of life, and awkward was an actor, how would I greet it? Would I be intimidated, uncomfortable, shy? No, I would step forward, shake it's hand, and say, "welcome to the stage."

It may not make sense for you, but I view life as my stage. I present myself to people based on what happens behind the scenes. I sometimes feel as if I am constantly putting on a show for people, but I'm grateful for when the stage lights do finally go out. I greet new characters with enthusiasm, welcoming them to my world of a million emotions.

I've talked about confidence before, and I do think that it's the magical key to unlocking all of life's mysteries. And if you can't be confident, fake it until you make it.

Song Recommendation

I have a great one. At least I look cool by Sasha Sloan is all about the fake it till you make it vibe. The beat is sick, I like the video, and I like her voice. It just makes me feel cool, you know? This is the kind of music you need to be listening to if you want to be confident and avoid awkwardness in your life. If you'd be interested in a playlist of songs that make me feel confident and help me avoid being uncomfortable, let me know! I might do it anyway just because I want to, but we'll see.

Did you learn anything today? Are you going to be less awkward? I hope so! Just pretend you're the coolest person in the room and everything will be fine, right?

Cover photo credit.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Doyle

Currently in my "figuring it the hell out" era.

Big believer in everything happening for a reason, second chances, and the fact that we're living in a simulation.

Check out my podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/semimindfulbanter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.