Motivation logo

Are You That Snorlax Blocking Your Own Path?

A guide to remove self blockages effectively.

By Otaku WriterPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - September 2019
3

Heyo guys! If you have ever played or watched Pokemon in your life, you might have realized what I'm talking about here. There is this giant Snorlax which sleeps in the middle of the road, blocking the path; and if you are playing it for the first time, then like me, you might have had no clue what to do, but you totally want to capture it... sorry to be the bearer of the bad news, but it's not gonna happen (unless you play some more and get a flute).

I just tried everything that I possibly could (except taking a detour and going to another city), to either capture it or to get past it. And, after hours of 'trying,' I finally admitted my defeat. Having nothing to lose anymore, I decided to "cheat" and referred to a poke walkthrough/guide online. That's when I realized that I can't wake that thing up unless I have the necessary tool (only if I wasn't so stubborn to use a guide, I could have saved some time. Well, there is no point in regretting it now).

And here is what I learned something from that experience:

You might be that Snorlax blocking your own path, and you might be using the wrong tool to clear the road.

What do I mean by that? It means we might be hindering ourselves and holding ourselves back. We might be using the wrong tools—anger, frustration, and every other thing that leads to self hatred and low self esteem—to clear the road. Makes sense? (I honestly tried my best to explain, but I am not the best at explaining things, I admit.)

For example, like most people on the planet, I am a socially awkward person. I just hold myself back a lot (but it's not the case when I'm blogging though ;-)). And if I decided to use those wrong tools, such as getting mad at myself for holding myself back, or hating myself, things are obviously not gonna get better. I'll only be standing alone in the corner of the room and criticizing myself, which is not gonna make me better at socializing.

Instead, if I just don't make that a big deal (because the moment you start to hate yourself, things get a lot worse), and continue trying to socialize by motivating myself (instead of criticizing myself), I can easily clear my road, clear my social anxiety (just takes a little patience that's all).

The same applies to everything that you are not able to do right now because you are holding yourself back. If you continue to use the wrong tool to clear the road, well, the road will never be cleared, but the gaming experience is sure to get worse (I mean you won't be making any progress at all, and you'll be frustrated.)

There might be cases where you can't remove the blockages right away. Like in the game, you might have to level up and play more before coming back with the necessary tools to deal with the problem you found way back in your past. It takes time.

And of course, if you are like me, you'd want to give it your all to try and figure things out on your own, which is not all that bad, but there are times when you have to give up your stubbornness and seek others guidance and help in things they are very well experienced at.

So, if you find that you are that Snorlax blocking your own way, try using the right tool. You will get rid of it for sure, and you will be able to move on.

self help
3

About the Creator

Otaku Writer

Hiya! Am a 20 year old anime enthusiast, who writes stuff about anime and Otaku culture~

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/silvercrowv1/

Blog: https://animeeverything.online/

Ko-fi: https://ko-fi.com/silvercrow

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.