Motivation logo

Are You Limited by the Fear of What Other People Think

"It's normal for people to spend their entire lives waiting for life to begin." ~ Eckhart Tolle

By Sabin PaulPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Are You Limited by the Fear of What Other People Think
Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

A few months ago, I found myself on the busy streets of London's Covent Garden.

It was a beautiful Friday evening in the capital and crowds of people came out to celebrate the end of the working week, waiting for next weekend.

But that's not why I was there.

I was going to Covent Garden that day for a purpose.

Most of my life, the fear of what other people think of me keeps me trapped. It had prevented me from reaching my full potential and enjoying life to the fullest.

I would not bring dance to the public for fear that people would point and laugh. At work I could not express my opinion for fear that they would be thought of as fools. And when I was very low, even walking down the street became a struggle, as my mind raced with images of people talking and laughing at me as I passed.

I've lived half my life. I knew I was lost. I also knew that there was much I could contribute to this world. But I became disabled because of the fear that if I put myself there, I would be ridiculed and rejected.

And so “my own” is always concrete somewhere inside. I knew he was there, I knew who he was, but the fear kept him trapped.

But sixteen months ago, things started to change. Filled with a growing sense that I am not living my life and my great emptiness due to the lack of purpose my life seemed to have, I quit my corporate office job in search of answers, determined to live a fulfilling life.

I committed myself to that moment to deal with all my fears and find a way to reconnect with the real Leah and let her enter the world.

The last sixteen months of my life have been challenging, as I dedicate myself daily to moving a little farther out of my comfort zone. But being in that space of discomfort and crossing the line from fear to courage led to the fulfillment that I longed for as I saw how much I could.

I would be lying if I said I don't think twice about what others think, but for the most part I can push you beyond that to do things I know I should do.

So I came to Covent Garden, hoping that I would now encourage others to free themselves from that fear of what others thought and to accept life completely.

So as I stood, on the narrow streets of London that night, with a handmade sign from old boxes of grain, it read:

“How often do we overlook this golden stream to the well?”

The response to this simple question surprised me.

People stopped and paid attention.

Some smile knowingly, acknowledging that their lives are affected by fear of what others think.

Others shake their heads in sadness. Maybe there was something they wanted to do but were held back by that fear.

Others joined the conversation, sharing their stories of how the fear of what other people thought had affected their lives or how they had learned to be less indifferent.

That day, for the first time, I realized how much the fear of what other people think affects our lives - all of our lives. What can we do if we fear that fear?

I went home that night and learned important lessons…

You are not alone.

We often experience our silent fears. We believe that we are the only ones.

Everywhere we look we find ourselves surrounded by confident people.

But I’ve noticed that everyone — those who seem confident or shy; presentations - all of us, fighting our fears.

When you are afraid of what other people think is holding you back, look around and remember, everyone is living in their own fear. You are not alone.

By dealing with your fears, you help others to deal with their own.

After all, if you stop caring about what others think and are determined to achieve your goals and dreams, you give others the power to do the same.

Someone is always watching and wishing they had your courage. By cultivating your own fear, you are truly helping others to cope with their own.

Be risky and honest. Being open about your fears and dealing with them directly can be the greatest gift you have ever given.

What you think they are thinking is not true.

Those people out there? Those you think are talking about you? Judging? Not at all. Really. They have no time. They are so busy worrying about what people think of them!

And even if they are watching you, judging you, talking about you, you can be sure that they are not saying bad things about you.

Instead, they crave the color of your hair, your shoes, the way you look and feel confident.

What we think people think of us does not come close to the truth.

Freedom from fear of what others think is possible.

Fear of what other people think of us is like a cage.

Eventually you become accustomed to being inside that cage and eventually forget what the exterior looks like. They cease to dwell within their walls.

By taking a deliberate and deliberate action to overcome the fear of what others think of you, you are slowly bringing back your freedom and escaping the boundaries of your own prison.

And living without that cage? Very good!

It is a place where you can be a person who knows exactly what you are supposed to be.

And that, to fully express yourself, to be all that you know you are, to accomplish your great power in life, is not that great feeling that you do not know.

Do not let fear of what others think hold you back from living the life you were born with.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.