Motivation logo

A Very Small Walking Victory

My Walking In April After The Operation

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
6
Each Victory Counts

My Walking In April

At the start of this month, I was in the first week of my convalescence from my operation which you can read about below. And I wasn’t really able to walk much at first.

A couple of years ago I did the million steps in three months and then kept that going, but eventually reduced it from eleven thousand steps a day to seven thousand steps a day because I was having to walk before and after work to make up the step total.

The problem is that some days I was not even hitting a thousand steps a day and then at the worst point I was forty-two thousand stamps down on my required total. You can see this in the screenshot below.

My Steps In April

At the end of March, I hardly moved so I did not make my monthly target but this month I have overhit my target by almost twenty thousand steps. which I am actually quite proud of.

I have been helped by searching for Cats to photograph for Cats of Vocal on Facebook which you can see here, and there is a related story about it below that you can read about. Cats of Vocal is on Instagram here.

Although I probably walk too much and always try to do everything too quickly I was surprised that I hit my walking target fairly easily, especially with what happened at the end of March.

Part of it is just to go for a bit more than you have already done. I don’t do gyms and my current body situation means that swimming is not a real option, so walking is my de facto method of physical exercise.

The Reason For Sharing This

The thing is, I have done this after my operation. I am slowly improving but still not back to a hundred per cent. I am sharing this to show other people that they can do the same in any area of their life.

It might be taking a few steps, or even just getting out of bed. Every small act like that becomes a tiny victory and makes life better and sets you up for the following day

Other victories could be answering a phone, making a doctor's appointment, making a phone call to a friend or writing a physical letter.

My victory is the steps I take and the photographs I take while making those steps. Others may find different goals, but it is always good to have a reason or a goal to aim for but make sure you are in control of it.

Conclusion

This was written on the final day of April 2022, tomorrow is a new day and new month, but my goals are the same. Seven Thousand steps at least, 25 Heart Points on Google Fit (you get a Heart Point for a hundred steps walked briskly) and pictures for Cats of Vocal, although that depends on the weather and whether the cats want to come out to play.

Set your own goals and you may find that you start to hit those small victories and soon you may be doing more than you expected. I wasn’t so sure about writing this piece and as you can see it does meander a bit, but this in itself is a small victory for me.

I know I am repeating myself but identify your own goals, however tiny they may be and then try and hit them and beat them, and if you do, you will feel much better about yourself.

success
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.