Motivation logo

A Strong Woman

I got my fuel back.

By Theresa EvansPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
A Strong Woman
Photo by Christina @ wocintechchat.com on Unsplash

She can deal with stress and carry heavy burdens. She smiles when she feels like screaming and sings when she feels like crying. She cries when she's happy and laughs when she's afraid. Her love is unconditional. There's only one thing wrong with her…she forgets what she's worth.

I can deal with stress and carry heavy burdens. I smile when I feel like screaming and sing when I feel like crying. I cry when I am happy and laugh when I am afraid. I love unconditionally. There's only one thing wrong with me: I tend to forget what I am worth.

I am a strong woman because after all the trauma I had to overcome, it feels incredible to know that I took the time to make myself a top priority and continue to rebuild myself in more ways than one. I know I can deal with stress and carry heavy burdens, but this doesn't mean I will continue to carry other people's burdens. I used to put on a fake smile when in reality, I felt like screaming, and I used to sing when I felt like crying, but now I don't have to fake a smile because I know what it is like to smile for real and it not feel forced which is impressive within itself. I cry when I am happy, but I no longer laugh when I am afraid of something new because I have learned that to grow into the best version of my new self, I can't afford to change things that are no longer working for me. I had to change my mindset about so many different things because if I didn't, I would not be able to move on to the next level of my life.

By Sahej Brar on Unsplash

I love unconditionally, but if you choose to keep breaking my heart, then I will still love you unconditionally but distance myself from you because you will not change for the betterment of us as friends/loves or family. There is genuinely only one thing wrong with me: I tend to forget what I am worth.

Over the years, I was so used to not knowing my worth because the abuser wanted to ensure that I never had a voice, and his intention was to kill me in all areas of my life. Now that he is dead and gone, I have found my voice again and written and published my first book on amazon, kindle, and Barnes and Noble websites. My new book is called "My Sixteen Year Old Life." By Theresa Evans. I know how valuable I am now because I was able to work on myself more instead of working on others around me, thinking that this was the answer. I always found myself in the most toxic and craziest situations with others because they didn't understand me, and I didn't understand them. I know that if a person tells you they are a snake, believe them because they think they know themselves better than you.

Now, this is true if you are thinking about self-love and care. You have to be able to mentally reprogram yourself first because if you want to grow and develop into the best version of yourself, you have to go through the mental process of taking out the trash. Think about it like this, if you have a place to stay and you are working at a job, there is always some form of trash that needs to go out, and this is the same process for mental trash dumping. I am no longer afraid to change; I am no longer afraid of change because to live your best life, you will have to change, and there is no going around it.

self help
2

About the Creator

Theresa Evans

I am a woman on fire for the love of life and being able to reach one life at a time through my words. If I can reach one then I can teach one the art of healing one's self from the inside out all mentaly

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.