Motivation logo

A Simple Self-Reflection Exercise To Increase Self-Awareness

Knowing ourselves is the key to increasing self-esteem, self-confidence, living our lives with intention and purpose.

By Katharine ChanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
A Simple Self-Reflection Exercise To Increase Self-Awareness
Photo by Patrick Schneider on Unsplash

Here's an easy self-reflection exercise you can do to know yourself better and increase self-awareness.

Pick a simple decision that you've made in the past and ask yourself WHY 5 times.

When I was in grade 6, there was this thing called "Student of the Week".

Each week, a kid would do a short presentation about themselves, like their favourite food, music, colour etc.

You know…as a way to teach a kid how to speak in front of the group and get to know each other.

Anyway, at the end of the presentation, the classmates could raise their hands and ask questions.

There was always some clown who would ask, "why do you like pizza?" and then the kid would answer…and then the clown would ask, "why?"

So when it was my turn, I was freaking ready with all the answers. I said I liked swimming.

Why?

I liked the water.

Why?

Because I like to float.

Why?

Because it's fun.

After 3 whys, the class clown gave up.

But that exercise makes you really think about a decision that you've made in the past and WHY we made it.

So many times, when we make decisions, we either make them impulsively without thought or we overanalyze and became paralyzed thinking we will make the wrong decision. You know, because everything you think will go wrong will go wrong and anything that will go right won't.

But if it's a decision you've made already, what's done is done and the exercise forces you to self-reflect, discover new things about yourself so you know yourself.

The more you know yourself, the more self-aware you are, the more you live with intention, finetune what you want in life, and live your life with purpose. And the journey to personal fulfillment becomes that much easier.

Here's an example of how a simple question can turn into some deep insights about myself.

So why did I have a kid?

Because I want to help improve the next generation.

Why?

Because I think I have a lot to give.

Why?

Because I suffered from self-harm and depression as a teenager and thought there was no purpose to life.

Why?

Because I was trying to be perfect all the time.

Why?

Because maturity and following rules were valued.

Why?

Because my parents valued it.

By going through this process, it's really validating and justifies the decision that I made.

PLUS, I learned some new things about myself. I had no idea how much my upbringing and environment shaped the choices I have made in my life.

Let's try another one.

Why did I write this article?

Because I was stuck making a decision about whether I wanted to have pizza or pasta. I needed to figure out a way to become more certain about what I want even with the simplest decisions.

Why?

Because one of my insecurities is being indecisive.

Why?

Because for most of my life, I followed what everyone else was doing, was told how to do things and where to go. I let things happen to me and I got swept up in the masses. I never let myself choose the direction I wanted to go in life.

Why?

Because I didn't really know I am.

Why?

Because until I took time for myself to reflect on my decisions and realize that almost 99% of the time, I'd much rather have pasta than pizza

Why?

Because who I really am is someone who makes confident decisions and helps others do this as well. Fuck pizza! Give me spaghetti!

So Readers, what decisions have you made recently? Why did you make them?

self help
1

About the Creator

Katharine Chan

Sum (心, ♡) on Sleeve | Author. Speaker. Wife. Mom of 2 | Embrace Culture. Love Yourself. Improve Relationships | Empowering you to talk about your feelings despite growing up in a culture that hid them | sumonsleeve.com/books

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.