Motivation logo

A Power Guide: My Simple Process For Consuming 30+ books Every Year

My Simple Process For Consuming 30+ books Every Year

By Sojin samuelPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
My Simple Process For Consuming 30+ books Every Year

Warren Buffett, widely regarded as the greatest investor of the twentieth century, stood in front of 165 Columbia University students.

One of the students raised his hand and questioned Buffett about the best method to prepare for a career in investment. Buffett took out a stack of papers and trading reports he had brought with him and stated, "Read 500 pages like this every day." That is how knowledge operates. It accumulates in the same way that compound interest does. Everyone of you can accomplish it, but I promise not many of you will."Buffett believes that he spends 80 percent of his working hours reading or thinking. It makes you wonder, "Am I reading enough books?"

When I recently asked myself that question, I recognized there were some easy reasons I wasn't reading as much as I would like to, and I devised a sensible approach to help me read more than 30 books every year.

Allow me to explain...

How to Increase Your Book Consumption

Reading books is pretty simple if you know how to read. Simply set aside time to read. Of course, it's easier said than done.

When I examined my own reading habits, I discovered that they were primarily reactive, rather than proactive. If an interesting link appeared on Facebook or Twitter, I would read it as a reaction. I wasn't making an effort to read a book every day. I was merely reading intriguing thoughts that were thrust before me.

As a result, I did most of my reading online. Although there are many fantastic articles on the internet, the quality of good books is often higher. Books have superior writing (which is more closely edited) and higher quality content (better fact-checking and more extensive research). Reading books is definitely a better use of my time for learning than reading internet stuff.

So I needed to devise a system that would allow me to read more books while avoiding common distractions.

How do you go about doing that?

Daily Page Count: 20

Here's the only pattern I've been able to regularly follow:

To begin the day, read 20 pages.

I normally start my day by drinking a glass of water, writing down three things I'm grateful for, then reading 20 pages of a book. I've been practicing this new habit for the past ten weeks. I'm currently 100 pages into my seventh novel. At that rate (7 novels every 10 weeks), I'll finish 36 books in the following year. Not bad.

Here's why I believe this pattern is effective: 20 pages is not too long to be daunting. Most individuals can read 20 pages in 30 minutes or less. And if you do it first thing in the morning, the demands of the day don't interfere.

Finally, 20 pages may appear modest, but they quickly build up. It's a fantastic average speed.

If I have time, I'll read more at other times. Following my study for my post on how to obtain better sleep, I have also incorporated reading to my "get ready for bed" routine. But no matter what occurs the rest of the day, I still get my 20 pages in the morning.

The Initial Hour

What do you do with the first hour of your day?

The majority of individuals use it to get dressed, ready, and out the door. What if you spent that time making yourself a better person? What if you got up an hour earlier every day and worked on yourself? How much better would you be at work, in relationships, and as a person if you could?

how to
Like

About the Creator

Sojin samuel

I'm Sojin (U can call me sam) - writer, student for life, son, friend, artist, nerd, movie lover, avid coffee drinker, obsessive reader, and crafter. I have also been a web developer, a college graduate and a tutor.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.