Motivation logo

A little about me...

A sneak-peek into what's coming next

By Iris WongPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Hi everyone!

For my very first post, I would like to briefly introduce myself. I know this isn't your typical social media platform, so this may come across as “not interesting” or “unnecessary”, but I honestly feel more at ease knowing that I am just me, interacting with whomever person is on the other side of the screen.

So, as my caption says, I'm a half Hong Kong-ese, half Catalan girl, currently in my twenties and recently graduated with a degree in Psychology.

I expect to dedicate an entire post to the first mentioned aspect, but I would like to clear up that I am not of mixed heritage. Both my parents are from Hong Kong, but they migrated to Barcelona many decades ago, and there I was born, in Catalonia. Therefore, even though my blood is from Hong Kong, my roots are in Catalonia; and it is my own individual culture that derives as a mixture of those two different worlds.

Because of this background, one of my biggest interests resides in culturally or ethnically-related issues (not only racism, though, for which I also expect to post many future stories). This big topic has kept me immersed in many sociopolitical battles along the years, which eventually led me to join other socially relevant fights, such as those against climate crisis, sexism, ageism, LGBTQIA+phobia, ableism, etc.

But because activism and social rights are exhausting roles to take on, I –as anyone who's in them– need some time and spaces to release the stress and decrease the burnout generated from those scenarios. A place to relax, to focus all your attention and energy into, to avoid any sort of responsibility. A place that you can call your ultimate “comfort zone”. For me, those are the arts. Lettering, painting (mainly watercolor), singing (and, of course, binge-watching, but that doesn't look so poetic so I'll leave it out of this blog hahahaha). Focusing all my time, all my attention to perfecting one single piece of art or song. It is an irreplaceable feeling. (Let's not forget that “relaxing” isn't equal to “not doing anything”.) So, that will be the second recurrent topic on this Vocal account.

And, last but not least, I consider myself to be an extremely introspective person. That is, I am constantly analyzing and asking things about myself, my relationships and my daily interactions. Not to find any flaws, not to necessarily improve myself, but simply to know and understand myself on a higher level. Because it often happens that, as humans in society, we lack a great amount of self-awareness. About our actions and outcomes, about our thoughts, about our motives, about the existing alternatives... About everything. And constant introspection is, I believe, something that everyone should incorporate into their routines, their usual lives, as a very little and personal yet subsequently humongous act to improve our current worldwide situation. In these talks, I will introduce some concepts or reflections born from my education in Psychology, which I hope will enrich your way of thought in any sort of way.

That'd be all!

If you've read this far, thank you very much for giving me your time and attention, and I truly hope to see you again wandering around here!

See you next time!

self help
1

About the Creator

Iris Wong

Half Hong Kong-ese, half Catalan.

Watercolor | Lettering | Psychology | Social matters

A place to learn, reflect, gaze and enjoy, or simply to scroll through.

Thank you for coming, hope you like my stories!

IG: @characterisedbylaughter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.