Motivation logo

A Heartfelt Letter To Happiness

Happiness

By Rahau MihaiPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
1

Thanks to you, I've never had to rely on the presence of a higher power to lead me. I didn't feel the need to investigate the so-called spiritual aspects of the cosmos when I had you. It would have complicated my life, but things between you and me have been so straightforward. It's something I enjoy about us.

I just wanted to let you know how much I miss you! I'm not moaning since I know you're around. And, given our lengthy relationship, I have more faith in you than in anything or anybody else. You always manage to put a grin on my face.

I was ten years old at the time, but I remember being sad that night because I was forced to go to bed early, as was customary, by turning out the lights for the following day's school. After everyone had fallen asleep, I peered at the night lamp and said loudly enough "Oh my goodness! Everyone else is sleeping, but I'm still awake." Nobody moved, and I just grinned stupidly throughout the entire thing. That's how simple you were.

I hadn't completed my homework and was certain to get scolded by the instructor. I found one buddy who was in the same situation as me and sat with him for the whole day simply to make him feel better. The instructor failed to appear when the time arrived. I'm still not sure what else could make me half as happy now as it did that day.

It's funny how thrilled I used to get over the bizarre stuff I kept in a polybag. Cells, cables, batteries, LEDs, soldering iron motors, magnets, marbles, and a variety of other items fall into this category. Because you were there the whole time, I could play with it for hours without stopping. In case you're curious, I still have some of those items.

Then there was the period when I had to leave my hometown, school, and friends - practically everything and everyone that gave me a feeling of belonging. But you were there with me in the midst of it all. I met new friends, did silly things, teased them, and humiliated myself several times, just to create new memories that still make me chuckle. Thank you very much!

And I'll never forget that night with my cousins, the last time we had a genuine get-together with no ulterior goal. Everyone was having a great time with each other, holding no grudges and being their most ridiculous selves. I'll never forget my cousin's dancing, which made us feel he wouldn't stop till he physically pulled the wall away that night. We were both on fire.

Then there were the college years. We had some bumps on the road at first, but we got along OK for the next four years. I'll be eternally thankful for the fact that I could find you in almost any activity back then - movies, computers, games, comics, books, talks... You name anything, and I was completely content doing it.

How can I forget the hardships of those years? I was making grandiose goals and failing miserably, as though I spent the majority of my time plotting my next great blunder. But I was able to withstand it all without collapsing... My cousin, family, and friends provided direct and indirect assistance, which deserves particular attention. Most importantly, even at the darkest of circumstances, you never really abandoned me.

I recall spending lengthy walks through the streets of Mumbai, a city that never sleeps and is the most vibrant at night. Those everyday commutes on local trains and BEST buses, learning the whole Western line, and utilizing the m-indicator to determine bus numbers and routes all had a significant part in molding me.

Because I realized you were the true source of all my inspiration, optimism, and perseverance, this was probably the moment I learned to genuinely appreciate and value you. I used to not mind having two and a half hours of sleep, standing all day without a break, living on a single meal, and yet walking uncounted kilometers without tiring since I was pleased doing all of these things. Today, even the weirdo I encountered on the bus from Infinity Mall to Andheri Station made me laugh. It was a fantastic experience!

I also reasoned that sharing you with others would allow me to retain you for a longer period of time. During the shootings, I began monitoring those strangers on trains and buses, attempting to get to know the spot guys, Make-up Dada, artists, and others. I discovered how much a kind welcome, motivational speech, or simply a smile could brighten their and my day. I admit that I was given additional coffees for such behavior at times, but it just added to my sense of your presence.

This was also the moment when I met several strangers who were going through difficult times in their life and really needed some encouragement. I felt grateful and fortunate to be able to donate some since I was likely overflowing. I'll always be proud of myself for being able to give them that momentary but desperately needed shove out of their life's darkness, even if I never met most of them. They haven't communicated in a long time, but I hope they are doing well in their life. Thank you once again!

I used to believe that I had everything I wanted and that all I needed to do was start making decent money to make my life complete. What a blunder I made! The joy I used to get from eating that Rs. 8 Vada Pav with Rs. 5 Limbu-paani would never be matched by sitting in luxury restaurants eating the most costly meals.

I may come out as neurotic, but I believe money has just added to the confusion in my life. Everything was in order until I used my credit card. What makes me happy now is much the same as what made me happy in the past.

The fact that I will never be able to relive most of those times makes me sad. Life has progressed, as has everyone else. The recollection of all the pleasant days is still with me. This should be plenty to keep me going.

Finally, I'd want to commend you on your talent at making individuals seem gorgeous. No matter what I'm going through, their happy faces always offer me the optimism and positivity I need in my everyday life. And it makes me think that you are always there in the form of smiles, giggles, and laughters... even if they aren't always coming from me.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Rahau Mihai

Hi! Come to my profile and you will see really useful things or something to relax you !

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.