Motivation logo

A Compassionate and Present Definition of Productivity

Measure productivity with smiles and not in hours

By Mujer CronopioPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Productivity definition

As a Productivity Coach, I must say that it's very tempting to create a universal and infallible method to make everyone's day more "productive." I even could sell this method and create a funnel and all the things that the majority offers.

The bad or good news, it depends. Productivity doesn't work like that!

What is not productive?

  • Do more
  • Do all
  • Be busy always
  • Handle a lot of projects
  • Have a full plate
  • Wake up at 5 a.m.
  • Put everything on the agenda
  • Implement a new method each month
  • Transform everything into a priority
  • Schedule all my time
  • Track all my habits
  • Postpone your happiness
  • Be rigid

What is productive?

  • Do the important tasks
  • Delegate
  • Set priorities
  • Be mindful of my time, energy, and attention
  • Have healthy habits
  • Decide how to spend my time
  • Enjoy each day
  • Accept that life happens
  • Don't put circumstances as an excuse
  • Smile
  • Be happy
  • Be creative
  • Be flexible

Productivity Definition

I applied several methods, from GTD to Deep Work, read many books, and take some time management courses. I became obsessed with my calendar. Of course, I crashed and burnt. I didn't feel more productive. Let's not talk about happiness.

In the meantime, I discovered that I am a multipotentialite, which means that I have so many interests and focus that I actually pursue that I need to be organized and very smart to avoid getting frustrated and abandon the projects.

Guilt and frustration was a big part of my productivity equation since I was a young woman looking for her passion.

However, after years of feeling depressed and purposeless, I discovered Buddhism. No, I am not going to talk about the benefits of meditation, so keep reading, please.

Buddhism gave me a key hint in the right direction: be present in my present, and be compassionate.

A productivity definition that resonates with me is: "the art of mindful use of time, energy, and attention to experience harmony in your life."

Harmony in life = Happiness.

Time is non-negotiable. We have 24 hours per day. What can do with time is to decide where to invest it.

Energy varies per minute. We need to accept that we are human beings, not machines. Therefore, a productivity method, system, or technique without self-compassion doesn't make any sense. You need to forgive yourself, enjoy yourself, and comfort yourself when you fail. Also, you need to use the scientific method: failure is just more information for my next attempt.

Attention wanders, putting yours constantly in the future, lead you to miss out on your present. In other words, you miss your own life to be not present.

Productivity's goal should be happiness. Happiness should be defined by you and only you. Happiness happens:

  • when your attention is placed in more important than on the urgent,
  • when you take care of your mind and body to boost your energy naturally,
  • and when you invest your time wisely.

So, next time someone asks you: Are you productive? Think about your happiness first.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.