Motivation logo

8 Simple Ways to Stay Motivated

While Also Social Distancing

By AmandaPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1
8 Simple Ways to Stay Motivated
Photo by Carl Heyerdahl on Unsplash

During these unprecedented times, social distancing has become an extremely important way to "flatten the curve" of the COVID-19 pandemic. This has meant that many people who were used to a work routine that included commuting to an office (or school) have been stuck working (or studying) from home. For those people, that can destroy motivation and make simple tasks very difficult. To make things just a little easier, I have compiled a list of eight things that can help motivate you if you have found yourself in a rut.

1. Get enough sleep

I always say sleep is key. Setting yourself a consistent sleep/wake schedule will help you get into a routine if you have recently lost yours due to social distancing measures that have kept you away from the office and you have found yourself setting an alarm for ten minutes before your first meeting of the day. Not only will getting enough sleep help with energy and motivation, consistently good sleep is an important part of a healthy lifestyle. Sleep matters immensely, and studies have shown that getting a good night's rest is linked to better heart health and improved brain function

2. Create a morning routine

After you've created a good sleep/wake schedule, having a morning routine will get your day started on the right foot. This routine MUST include changing out of your pajamas, making your bed, washing your face, eating breakfast, brushing your teeth and combing your hair. These sound like obvious things that everyone does every morning, but it is easy to simply roll out of bed, get on your laptop and not want to do anything for the rest of the day because you are still in sleep mode. Having these simple tasks as well as other things in your routine (such as meditating or listening to a podcast) will jump start your day and motivate you to get more done.

By Zachary Keimig on Unsplash

3. If possible, get some fresh air

Some areas have strict rules on social distancing, so you might not be able to get out into the world and walk around, but if you can... do it. Get outside and breathe in the fresh air. Even if you cannot go for a long walk or a bike ride, the least you can do is step out on to your balcony or patio and take a few deep breaths to refresh your mind and energize you mid-day.

4. Work at a desk or table

Do not, i repeat, DO NOT work on your bed or on a couch. This is motivation kryptonite. If you don't have a desk at home, sit down at your kitchen table or counter and work from there. Whatever you do, fight the urge to lay in bed as you work. My biggest tip for social media detox, which you can see here, is to avoid bringing any electronics to bed because your bed should be your area to decompress after a long day. That not only stands for social media use, but also for work. If your bed becomes your new workspace, you will not be able to rest well when you finally finish your work. Keep the two worlds separate.

By Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

5. Create a To Do list

Make it general, or be as detailed as you need. Either way, having something written down will push you to check off the items. I have found that jotting down even something as simple as "get stamps" or "clean the kitchen" has motivated me to get up, get moving, and finish the tasks. There is something satisfying about checking something off or crossing something out that will push you to get sh*t done.

6. eliminate distractions

I know this tip has helped me enormously throughout my studies and can definitely translate to the work from home environment. If you find yourself lacking motivation or losing focus, remove any and all distractions from your work space. If you absolutely need the internet for work or studying, try blocking social media sites or gaming sites that you know will distract you. Close your door or shut your window if the rest of the house or the outside world is too noisy. Try listening to white noise with earphones while you work to block out any stimuli that might otherwise break your concentration. The key here is to find what distracts you and remove it from your space (temporarily).

By Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

7. Get some exercise

This one will be the most difficult to do, but it is extremely important. Since social distancing measures have been put in place I have found that I am very unmotivated to get up and move around.. and that has affected my motivation in other parts of life because of my lack of energy. Even if you only to one or two push ups and a couple of sit ups per day. Getting your endorphins flowing will give you the energy you need to finish your work. Don't think of this as a chore, but as a way to take your brain off of work or school. Find something fun if you get bored of weights or running. I personally enjoy doing these dance workouts that are free on youtube. If something on the low impact side is more your style, try a gentle yoga flow or a stretching routine. Your new favourite way to exercise is a simple google search away.

8. Take breaks

As someone who is easily distracted and bored, this tip has helped me keep my motivation by giving me something to look forward to. The trick I use is a 40 minutes on 10 minutes off format. This was originally something my physiotherapist told me to do in order to improve my posture (added benefit for sure!) but I found that it also helped me concentrate and motivated me to work harder. Knowing that I have a ten minute break where I could goof off, eat a snack or get up and stretch my legs, so I don't feel the need to check my messages or go on Facebook because I could do it during the break I gave myself. My studies improved, my focus improved, and my motivation followed suit. Find an amount of time that works for you and set a timer.

These tips are simple, but they can help you greatly if you stick to them. Social distancing is tough and this is a scary time, but we can get through this if we all do our part.

Stay safe, stay sane, stay motivated... and wash your hands!

how to
1

About the Creator

Amanda

A passionate young person sharing what she loves

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.