Motivation logo

75 Hard 19 Days In

Can't stop, won't stop

By Emily McDonaldPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
75 Hard 19 Days In
Photo by Luke van Zyl on Unsplash

I am still crushing my daily tasks 19 days in. This is also the day that most people have officially given up on their New Year’s Resolution. I feel very accomplished in those two facts alone. I have got 56 days left of 75 Hard and I am so excited to see the end results of this!

This has been extremely difficult to complete thus far, and I know it’s not going to get any easier. I’m okay with that. I’m ready to push myself to my limits mentally and physically. I’m excited to grow in a way that I never have before. I’m excited to grow in a way that you can only grow from a real challenge.

The first week was probably the easiest for me. I was pretty well rested, I was able to find time pretty easily to workout, and I was eager to start. I had meal prepped and had everything ready. I only lost .7 lbs in the first week but I was thrilled that I was getting some kind of result. I had also lost 1.25 inches from my body and I was beyond thrilled with that result. I’m trying to focus more on inches rather than pounds because you can’t tell muscle mass versus fat when you step on a scale.

Week two was difficult for many reasons. I was extremely exhausted at this point, and then I got hit with COVID. However, me being stubborn I kept doing my two workouts per day. Thankfully, all of my meals had already been made and I didn’t have to worry about cooking at all while I was sick. My workouts were less intense than the week prior. I had switched to just walking outside, and doing yoga, indoor walking workouts, or active recovery workouts for my other indoor workout. I was trying not to do anything too crazy so I wouldn’t set back my recovery too bad. I probably should have just stopped working out and slept all day, but I decided to push on. I wasn’t going to grow by giving up. At the end of the week, I was down 1.9 lbs for the week, and I had lost 2 inches off of my body. I was absolutely floored by those results.

I am 5 days into my third week, and I am still very much exhausted, but I am back to strength training, and lower intensity workouts. I am still coughing and taking my inhaler regularly, but I am eating healthy and drinking my gallon of water a day. I have only lost .5 lbs so far this week but I am still proud that I am sticking to the anti-inflammatory diet, I have had no alcohol, and I am completing my workouts and eating a good amount of protein.

I wanted to go over the good and bad things that I have noticed so far during this challenge. The positives far outweigh the bad, but there are some negatives. I have noticed that I am sleeping much better since I started this challenge. I don’t have to take melatonin or anything like it in order to fall asleep and stay asleep until my alarm goes off. I have suffered from insomnia for a long time so this is a very welcomed improvement. I have also noticed that I am not nearly as bloated and I am having far less stomach problems. Really the only downside to doing this challenge for me is that with my chronic fatigue I have pretty much no energy for anything else. However, I knew that going into this challenge, and that was part of the reason why I wanted to do it. I wanted to focus completely on myself and on becoming the best version of myself possible.

In total as of January 14, I have lost 2.6 pounds and 3.25 inches off of my body. I cannot wait to see what results I get in the next few weeks. I’m so excited to have accomplished this challenge. 19 days down, 56 to go!

If you want, you can follow my journey on Instagram! Follow @healthily.emilyanne

goals
Like

About the Creator

Emily McDonald

27, fur mom, mental health focus. I'm also a fitness and lifestyle blogger. I hope you enjoy the content!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.