Motivation logo

6 Life-Changing Tips to Mentally Heal while having physical pain

Dealing with the injury can go beyond just healing the body. It may take a great mental journey to heal completely.

By Ram PaudelPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
6 Life-Changing Tips to Mentally Heal while having physical pain
Photo by Christian Erfurt on Unsplash

Dealing with the injury can go beyond just healing the body. It may take a great mental journey to heal completely.

Imagine if you cut your toe in bed. The next few times you are in the same situation, your awareness will be raised and you will be very careful not to hurt yourself again. And eventually that will disappear and you will go back to going through the processes without even thinking about it.

That’s just a small example, but it shows the mental journey of injury.

If you are seriously injured, the psychological impact can be very difficult to overcome and overcome.

A few years ago, I suffered a back injury that affected me deeply.

I've been playing volleyball for most of my life - until I said it was my life. I played for a year almost every day.

Volleyball is where I made friends, I felt successful, and I found love. However, it led to my life-threatening back injury.

In my last year of high school, just before I had to start my final volleyball season, I started to feel back pain.

At first, I thought about a little rest and relaxation, everything would start to feel better. However, the days and weeks began to pass, and I did not feel any better. It was time to go to the doctor.

After initial examinations and x-rays, the doctor determined that one of my vertebrae could move forward. In order to make a final diagnosis, they needed to do an MRI.

I had to wait a few days to get my MRI results, which sounded like years. Meanwhile, I was still getting used to volleyball, enjoying my teammates off the bench in the hope of getting better test results.

Then the doctor called and said that I would never be able to play volleyball again.

The next few days were tough. I was experiencing chronic physical pain that was challenging, but it was also mentally difficult.

I had to ask myself questions like "What are my hobbies or interests if I can play games?" And I had to deal with the mental anguish of wanting to do things my body just wasn't ready for. Exercising, sitting or standing for long periods of time, and even going to a park with friends… all of a sudden felt blocked.

But little by little, with medical help such as physical therapy, I began to recover. It took me a while, maybe about a year, before I could live my life to the fullest without having to deal with constant pain or pay attention to my injuries.

And now, seven years later, I am able to recover to the point that I can exercise, play sports, and so on. As long as I take care of myself when I do.

All that said, if you are dealing with an injury and you feel the psychological impact of that physical pain, I fully understand you and you are not alone. And I want to pass on some tips on how to recover mentally from a physical injury that I have found important to help me heal on my journey.

Here are six tips to change the life of a mental recovery from physical injury:

1. Accept the situation

The first step in recovering from a physical injury is to accept what happened. Agree with your injury and diagnosis.

Injuries result from stress on your body, often as a result of an accident. Even if you feel guilty or feel guilty than others, you will need to find forgiveness in order to be psychologically healed from what happened.

Gaining acceptance is important before going through all these steps.

2. Learn about your injuries

The next step is to learn about your diagnosis. The more you know, the more you can mentally prepare for future recovery.

Understand things like how long you should expect the recovery to take or what is involved in recovery such as medication, physical therapy, rest, etc. By knowing the details of your injury and the expected recovery, you will be able to plan and position yourself to be successful.

Planning will make your mind relax and help you feel ready to take the journey ahead of you.

3. Commit to your treatment

Another important factor in mental healing from physical injury is commitment to your treatment. If you have been injured in a sport or a hobby, it may feel bad that you will not be able to train for that job.

Change that feeling of space in your life by considering your treatment as training. Set goals for recovery and take your treatment seriously.

It will help to calm your mind and focus on healing.

4. Do not push yourself too fast

While setting goals and committing to your treatment is important, it is also important to be careful not to rush too quickly. Once you start noticing progress, it may be best to look at the finish line as soon as possible. But it is important to stay on track and not push yourself too fast.

Pushing yourself before your body is ready can lead to further self-injury. It will also be even more frustrating for you to try too hard and then feel frustrated when you do not have success.

The best thing you can do for both your physical and mental health during an injury recovery is to stick to your treatment plan. Take things one step at a time and slow down your healing process.

5. Find cravings and entertainment that fit your new lifestyle

If you are injured, you will probably not be able to participate in the normal activities and activities that you used to fill in your daily life. It will sound sad, frustrating, and perhaps even annoying.

That's all right - and understandable! However, the best way to deal with this is to discover new passions and pleasures that are similar to the new lifestyle and limitations that affect you right now.

healing
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.