Motivation logo

50 REASONS TO GO BACK TO SCHOOL IN YOUR 40s

Something I’ve been thinking of doing but haven’t done yet – I’m 46 years old

By Pamela DirrPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

These are in no in particular order:

1. Finally finish a degree

2. Maybe a better paying job

3. Might open more opportunities for me

4. It’s something I keep telling myself I should do but I haven’t done it yet

5. It would be a great accomplishment

6. It would be something to do in my spare time

7. Because who needs sleep anyway

8. I want to further my education

9. I like learning about things I’m interested in

10. You’re never too old to go back to school

11. I might find out that I like a different aspect of what I already do for a living

12. I’ve been putting it off for too long

13. I’ve been making excuses to not go back to school, now I can make excuses to go back to school

14. It’s something different compared to working 40+ hours a week

15. I could meet new people – even if going to school completely online

16. Some of the assignments could actually be considered fun

17. My schedule doesn’t seem full enough already

18. When I graduate it would be a great reason to have a party

19. After I complete a bachelor’s degree, then I can think about a master’s degree

20. There’s nothing wrong with attending classes online (especially when you have a hectic work schedule that doesn’t allow time for traditional class attendance)

21. Even if I don’t go back to school for a degree, I can still get certificates in whatever field I want to study (even though many employers want some sort of degree)

22. I’d have more knowledge than I do now

23. I like spending time at home anyway if I’m not at work (but I work 6, and sometimes 7, days a week anyway)

24. It’s something I want to do for myself and not for anyone else

25. Because I want to be more in debt than I already am

26. Maybe I could get a scholarship (I can definitely apply to a few)

27. Financial Aid maybe

28. Minimal commute time when classes are online

29. Education costs are a tax write off, right?

30. I’ll be proud of myself

31. If other people can get a college degree, then so can I

32. If others can go back to school in their late 40s, then so can I

33. It might take me on a new career path that I didn’t even know I wanted to be on

34. Because why not?

35. It gives me something to do on a rainy day

36. I’ll learn something else new every day

37. I might be able to apply what I learn into my life

38. Determination

39. Motivation

40. Dedication

41. There’s absolutely nothing wrong with graduating from a trade school or a business school; right now, though, what I want to study isn’t offered in trade school or business school, so therefore I have to go to traditional school (but online)

42. It could be the motivation that others need to pursue their educational goals

43. If you want something, go for it. I want this, so therefore I should for it

44. GOALS

45. Because my heart is telling me that I should

46. If I really apply myself, I could graduate before I’m 50

47. I like keeping my bank account with minimal money in it

48. I haven’t been in school in a long time, so it would be kind of like a new adventure for me

49. Networking for the future

50. Because I can do whatever I want, and I don’t have to validate anything to anyone

So, there you have it. 50 reasons to go back to school. As you probably noticed, some of them are sarcastic. That’s ok though. It’s good to have a sense of humor instead of being serious ALL the time.

goals
1

About the Creator

Pamela Dirr

I like to write based on my personal experiences. It helps me clear my mind. We all go through things in life. Good things. Not so good things. My experiences might also help other people with things that they might be going through.

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Top insight

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Nour Boustani2 years ago

    If I decide to go back to school, it would be for a single reason: Networking for the future. Thank you for sharing this interesting post.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.