Motivation logo

5 Ways Vlogging Has Enhanced My Life

Vlogging: Art of Consciousness

By Kim ReyesPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
"By choosing to share my life through vlogging, I am determining my own worth, acknowledging that I am capable of enhancing someone else’s life"

My best friends and I started vlogging one month ago, at the beginning of June. Since then, my life has substantially improved in every aspect. Here are five ways vlogging has enhanced my life:

1. Self-Awareness: I notice myself.

Seeing and hearing yourself in video content is not a common experience. At first, I felt uncomfortable seeing myself and even more so hearing myself, but these feelings were only because I’m not used to seeing or hearing myself other than through a mirror or voicemail. The more I saw and heard myself, the more I began to appreciate the nuances which, all together, made me, myself. Furthermore, I stopped seeing the areas in which I had believed I was lacking, and, rather, saw opportunities of growth. More than self-consciousness; it’s self-appreciation.

2. Grateful: I see beauty in everything.

The first time my friends and I decided to vlog during our Northwest Road Trip beginning June, I was so eager to get content, pointing Crystal’s camera (Sony a5100) towards anything and everything just for the chance to capture a moment. By doing so, I began seeing everything as substantial content. The sky, the ground, my feet walking. Everything was significant because I took the time to consider it. Anything mattered if I chose to see it that way. This appreciation and gratitude wasn’t an innate emotion, something out of my control, it was a decision of my own.

3. Vulnerability: I am open to anything, good or bad.

Sharing your life, sharing your thoughts and feelings puts you in a place of vulnerability, which, I believe, tests your true motivation. Posting content about your experiences opens you up to possible backlash (dislikes), but at the same time, opens you to the possibility of connection. I’ve met a handful of people through social media/YouTube and have reconnected with some people who I haven’t spoken or seen in years. If I can connect and make an impact in at least ONE person, then all the work, any backlash would be worth it.

4. Relationships: I appreciate the depth in anyone I meet.

Through vlogging, I’ve learned so much about relationships, especially the relationships closest to me. Vlogging has deepened my relationship with my best friends, Anna and Crystal, whom I’ve grown up with since high school. We empower and support each other by sharing our thoughts and feelings with not only the viewers, but most importantly, with each other. Our conversations have become exponentially more meaningful and our understanding of each other, immense. By understanding the depth in myself and my close ones, I can acknowledge and appreciate the depth in anyone I meet.

5. Empowerment: I can do this, I can do anything.

If I find this particular piece of content substantial, then odds are someone else would find the substance in it as well. Believing that someone out there will benefit from what you have to offer. Believing you have something to offer. Knowing you have an impact on others and that you can choose how you impact others is the most empowering. Vlogging has helped me believe in myself more than ever.

The decision to vlog, even more so than the act of vlogging itself, is of the most significance. By choosing to share my life through vlogging, I am determining my own worth, acknowledging that I am capable of enhancing someone else’s life simply with an intentionally curated ten-minute video.

Below are all of our vlogs so far. What I really enjoy about vlogging is seeing the progression in each vlog; content-wise, editing-wise, etc. And this is just the beginning.

"I stopped seeing the areas in which I had believed I was lacking, and, rather, saw opportunities for growth."

"Anything mattered if I chose to see it that way."

"[Vlogging] opens you up to possible backlash (dislikes), but at the same time, opens you to the possibility of connection."

"By understanding the depth in myself and my close ones, I can acknowledge and appreciate the depth in anyone I meet."

"Knowing you have an impact on others and that you can choose how you impact others is the most empowering."

Follow for more!

Instagram: Main Page

Yoga: Instagram

YouTube Channel

social media
Like

About the Creator

Kim Reyes

I practice yoga, write poetry and songs, and sing

artist name: Kimpoyr

-

Thank you for reading and supporting!

May you be happy and peaceful ♡ Love, Kim

-

Instagram

YouTube

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.