Motivation logo

5 Ways to Motivate Yourself

I've made it easy.

By Amanda DoylePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by @fossy on Unsplash.com

Why aren't you where you want to be in life? Did you not try hard enough? Did something go wrong? What causes you to feel like you're not moving forward, no matter how hard and fast you push?

One of my biggest problems is that I have a hard time motivating myself. I want to believe that I can do things, but then when it comes time to do them, my motivation disappears and I don't end up doing things the way I thought I would.

I've come up with five tips to help you motivate yourself. The 5 R's to motivation.

  1. Reminders: I'm constantly writing lists and reminders for myself. I have my distress tolerance skills posted on my fridge, along with other quotes. I have a journal that I write my to do list in for every day. I write my grocery list multiple times. In order to stay on track, I do what I do best - write it down. It helps me to feel organized when I can see it all in a list. It gives me motivation to want to cross items off of the list. Plus, it feels like an accomplishment when everything on the list is done.
  2. Rewards: If you don't take this one too far, it can be great. Think of some things that you really like that you don't get super often. Maybe some candies, maybe a trip to the beach with your partner. Whatever it is, tell yourself that you'll get these rewards for completing what you have to get done. Eventually, you'll do it for reasons other than you wanting a reward.
  3. Reinforcement: I've heard that the way to make a hobby is do it for like 28 days or something like that. You want to motivate yourself to go to the gym every day? Use reinforcement. Tell yourself you can do it. As you're getting dressed to go out the door, tell yourself you're doing a great job. Appreciate the work you're doing at the gym. And then do it all over again the next day. Gentle reinforcement from yourself or others in your life can do wonders.
  4. Reflection: Think about why you want to complete something. Maybe thinking about the reasons for why you want this done will push you to get it done faster. If I want to read a book, but I'm having trouble finding the motivation, I can think of all the reasons why I wanted to read the book in the first place. Or I can go back and read the recommendations from friends that I got. There's always inspiration for why we want to do something, so think about that and start there.
  5. Rush: When all else fails, pretend there's a time limit. Tell yourself that you have to have that resume finished by tomorrow night at 5pm or else. Make a punishment. Take something away. Whatever you have to do to convince yourself that this is real. Sometimes it takes a little playing pretend to make something in life feel real.

Those are the 5 R's to help you stay motivated. Reminders, Rewards, Reinforcement, Reflection, and Rush. I know it may not seem like a lot, but give one of those strategies a try next time you're struggling with motivation. Or give them all a try. They may help, and this may become your go-to.

And if this helps you, share the word! I want to help as many people as I can, considering I finally got off of my ass to do it. Help me out by sharing this article and anything else of mine that you find interesting!

self help
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Doyle

Currently in my "figuring it the hell out" era.

Big believer in everything happening for a reason, second chances, and the fact that we're living in a simulation.

Check out my podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/semimindfulbanter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.