Motivation logo

5 Ways to Get Your Sh*! Together During A Pandemic

Simple Tips for Becoming a Better Adult

By Shea GivensPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
3

I think we all know adulting can be difficult on a regular day, but now sprinkle in a little COVID-19 and we've all got our hands and brains at maximum capacity. The idea of acting as any good adult should can be quite daunting. That's okay! I've got some simple ideas for you that will enhance your life and start you on a path towards kickin' peach without sending you into complete stress ball mode.

1. Drink Water!

Maybe you've heard this over and over again from every fitness blogger and health influencer around, but I can promise you...IT HELPS! If you suffer from headaches, cravings, fatigue, getting into other peoples business...I'm telling you it helps! Hydration can improve so much in your life. To be honest, I have always enjoyed drinking water, but for some people its just not desirable. I get it. I love to drink sweet tea like a fish with the best of them, but water still has a special place in my heart.

One of my favorite simple ways to make water more enjoyable is to add fresh fruit like strawberries, lemons, or blueberries. It's makes you feel fancy and it adds some additonal health benefits. I also challenge myself often to make sure I match my other beverages with the same amount of water. For instance, before I drink my coffee in the morning I require myself to drink 16 oz of water. It's a new habit you can build that will greatly add to your energy and mental clarity levels throughout your day!

2. Practice Positivity!

Okay, for some this may be a bit more of a challenge. Actually, I will even call it out. We constantly compare ourselves to others in person and on social media outlets even if it's in small ways. It can be easy to get caught up in what other people look like or how fancy their lives appear to be in comparison to our own, but in no way does that make you inadequate! You are on your own path and contrary to popular belief it's a beautiful thing!

Stop telling yourself you are not enough! You may not be at your end goal right in this moment, but that doesn't mean you can't get there. In my opinion, there really is no such thing as an overnight success. Give yourself some grace and allow yourself to be a work in progress.

One of my favorite ways to re-route my brain towards positivity has been to write out (and sometimes vocalize) daily positive affirmations or goals. Sure, sometimes it may seem silly, but it is way more effective in reaching your goals than telling yourself you can't or being negative will ever be. For instance, if you want to be better with your finances you can write out some goals and repeat them aloud. You could say out loud something along the lines of " I am taking the steps to become better with my finances" or even " I am good with money". We are speaking it all into existence here people!

3. Develop A Skin Care Routine!

Happy skin breeds confidence! Your face is typically the first thing you present in social situations. I'm not saying to go buy a billion dollars worth of products ASAP, but developing a simple morning and evening skincare routine would be an awesome start. Even if it means splashing water to your face or (dare I say it) just making sure to use your makeup removing wipes before bedtime rather than falling asleep with your full face of makeup on. No judgement as I have been there! Having a fresh face is not only good for your skin it's great for your mind as well. Also, if you wear makeup within your day it typically creates a much better canvas to work with. Let's face it, there probably isn't a better time to take care of yourself than during a pandemic.

4. Breathe!

Do me a favor, stop reading for a moment and take 3 deep breaths and focus only on the complete in and out as you do so. Take note of that tiny bit of relaxation it gave you. For myself I felt a huge difference in stopping every once in a while in my day for a quick deep breath session. You don't have to be advanced in meditation to reap the benefits of a good deep breath! That tiny bit of relaxation could be just what you need to get you through the next steps of adulting in your day without completely launching off into outer space when something even mildly negative puts you off course. You've got this!

5. Make Time for Break Time!

As a professional musician and vocal coach I tend to find myself running around like a crazy person from place to place or from task to task. Because I run my own business it can be easy to give in to working around the clock. I've learned that the more time I set aside for myself, the more productive and present I actually am when I am working. Now, I'm not saying take a vacation every other week, however, you could definitely benefit from setting aside small amounts of time that is just for you and whatever you want to do.

For me, I finally decided that by 10pm each night I would stop responding to business emails and such (unless it is some groundbreaking opportunity). This may sound relatively restrictive to you. Trust me, it's hard for me at times as I'm naturally a bit of a workaholic, but I've found that I truly benefit from being able to mentally check out of my business for a little while in the evenings and just be a human. I also found that many of the times I felt an extreme sense of urgency and anxiety to respond to prospects it was actually quite unnecessary. I am a much better musician, performer, vocal coach, friend, partner, sister, etc. when I choose to take tiny bits of time that are just for me. It is worth it!

There is no doubt about it, the current pandemic has been HEAVY! I appreciate you taking the time out of your day to read through my tips. I hope they help you even in the smallest of ways during this time. Stay up and stay well friends!

Shea Givens

how to
3

About the Creator

Shea Givens

Shea Givens is a Southern California based Singer-Songwriter, Pianist, Vocal Coach, and Freelance Writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.