Motivation logo

5 Ways to Be Happier and More Present

“The past is only in our memories, the future is only in our plans. At the moment our real end. ”~ Robert Pirsig

By Sulav kandelPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
5 Ways to Be Happier and More Present
Photo by kike vega on Unsplash

Do you sometimes feel overwhelmed by negative thoughts and feelings? Do they appear as uninvited guests when you least expect it?

About eight months ago, I left a well-paying job for financial companies to pursue my love, writing.

Like many things in life, this decision has cost you.

And all the angst comes with it.

Within a few months of my career, I realized that my angst had become a big part of my mental world. I was worried that I would run out of money, that my dream of becoming a successful writer would never come true.

I disciplined myself by giving up a completely safe job in order to pursue my dream of a pipeline. “What Do You Think?” I would say to myself, "I mean, how stupid can you be?

Finally, I noticed something interesting.

All the obstacles to my happiness were about future situations (i.e.: I will never make a living again), or doubting past choices (i.e.: Did I make the right choice by leaving a well-paying corporate career behind?

None of them were focused yet.

In fact, they stole my present times like thieves in the night.

Finally, I realized that if I didn't deal with these feelings, I would stop. I had to find a way to deal with these joys of my happiness that were holding me back from taking positive steps right now.

So I did whatever anyone could do: I turned to Google.

I explored various ways to deal with my emotions that were holding me back from working right now.

I found meditation and daily practice as a powerful solution, and I subscribed to various thought blogs.

A few months down the line, I found this post by Lori Deschene.

Lori's words surrounding the release of emotions (dealing with mental demons permanently) touched me deeply:

“Feel it. If you let your emotions get the better of you, it may come out and affect everyone around you - not just the person you are trying to control. Before you let go of any feeling, you should fully feel it. ”

The fact is, you can let go of resentment only if you let it.

Sounds contradictory, right?

But here's one thing that always works.

The following are five great ways to overcome obstacles to happiness and emotions that prevent you from living your life to the full.

1. Openly acknowledge your feelings, even those that are negative.

All right.

Accept your feelings fully in each current moment. And let them pass when they run their studies.

So, if you feel scared, feel full now. Without responding to it.

Look at the fear as it appears in your body. Fear is like a butterfly in my stomach and rumbles in my arms.

How does it look like yours?

Remember, the only way to truly let go of resentment is to let them go on their natural course with a definite awareness.

2. Use the journal to create mindfulness and increase your ability to quit.

This works to slow the mind down.

Most writers would agree that seeing your thoughts appear on the page before you is a cure-all.

Writing also enhances your ability to absorb hurtful thoughts and feelings.

Writing is a great way to bring awareness to your destructive thinking patterns, so you can change them.

At the end of each day, write down what you learned from that day. What made you angry and what made you feel good? If something upsets you, how much of a difference does it make in your description of the situation, from what you think?

How often do you write?

3. Use your spirit to draw your attention to the present.

Mark Twain famously said, "I have had many troubles in my life, many of which have never happened before."

Much of our fear (speculation of the future) has never occurred.

And then, the past and the future live only in our imagination - in the present moment.

When your mind is fully occupied now, you cannot indulge in horrible thoughts about the future or thoughts of regrets about the past.

So, focus on your breathing for the present moment.

The benefits of doing so are as follows:

It draws your attention to the moment.

It puts your mind to something that is not in the mind.

How is your breathing right now? Deep? A little?

4. Know that your reaction to events describes your life experience, not the event itself.

In his book Your Erroneous Zones, Wayne Dyer explains the importance of separating our reactions to thoughts and ideas themselves.

Think about this.

Cal is concerned about the idea that his boss thinks he is stupid. You lose sleep about it. It is the fourth of his presence.

Now, suppose Cal did not know that his boss thought he was a jerk.

Then he won't be happy, will he? How could Cal not be happy about something he didn't know?

Fact: Cal's supervisor's opinion doesn't make Cal unhappy. Cal's reaction to his boss's vision made Cal unhappy.

By taking the reaction of his thoughts, Cal can control his mental world.

She may choose to react differently to her (inferior) boss's opinion of her. Cal can choose to give his boss's opinion of little value by recognizing that it is the opinion of one person among many.

Sadly, this will actually make Cal see you as a constructive criticism and make you better as a result.

Think about the last time you were upset. What did you tell yourself about the event that upset you? Are you upset because of your reaction to the event or because of the event itself?

5. Find out how your basic thoughts affect your private life.

Our basic thinking, which we often do not fully understand, is responsible for much suspicion and sorrow.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Sulav kandel

Im a contain writter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.