Motivation logo

5 Things I Have to Constantly Remind Myself

Every day I wake up I have to consistently remind myself these 5 things...

By jade darmawangsaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
16

I don’t feel good enough.

I told someone I don’t make money right now.

I’m a fraud, and I’m not worthy.

My vision isn’t clear but I know what my purpose is.

I don’t know what to do.

If someone said these words to my face, I would think “what a cruel, horrible person”. The funny thing is that these are the things I tell myself on a daily basis.

Every day I wake up I have to consistently remind myself these 5 things:

1. You are where you are supposed to be

In the midst of stressful and sometimes uncomfortable moments, I forget that in six months I’ll look back at this moment and laugh at it. Everything happens for a reason, and in order to truly believe that, you have to trust the process. I know it's scary but everything will be okay.

2. You are stronger than you think.

“Even if the worst thing imaginable happens, you’ll overcome it.”

There was this one night where I dreamed that I lost everything. I lost my friends, family, and business. But somewhere alongside that, I also had this God-like experience. There was a voice that told me that even if those things happened, I would be stronger than it. So try this: imagine your worst fear. Now imagine it coming true. Then tell yourself even if those things happen, you will be okay. You’re stronger than you think.

3. Everything is your fault

Learning this lesson has given me the utmost freedom. I use to blame others for my mistakes. However, this triggered my fear of not being in control of my own life. When you blame other people, you give them control. I think I was in middle school when my leadership teacher taught me this. Extreme ownership is the only way you can truly succeed.

4. Set realistic expectations. Rejection is a part of the process.

When running a company, I learned that I have to speak to around 100 brands before I even get one positive response. If I take each and every one of those “no’s personally, I realized that I probably shouldn’t have a business. Separating business from personal life has been the hardest thing in managing a business, but I realized that this separation also applies to any rejection I face. I actually have recently challenged myself to do something uncomfortable everyday. Wether it's a cold shower, insane workout, or solve a take a really scary phone call. It sounds harsh but not everyone needs to love you. You have everything you need - yourself. Which leads me to #5.

5. Everything you’re looking for is what you can give yourself.

I was in an on-and-off relationship recently. I was hoping this person could give me the opportunity, - the attention - the validation I needed. In reality, all I really needed to do was allow myself to self-validate. I learned I have the power to create my own opportunity, and I could give myself the attention and self-love I deserved. It's crazy to think that most of the pain in life is self inflicted. I truly believe mind over matter. Most importantly, I started to tell myself that I am worth it. No one else can, or will give me that permission but me.

Final Verdict:

Learning these things is one thing, but practicing it consistently is another. Believing your life has value one-hundred percent of the time is not easy, but every time I find myself in a moment where I need these mindsets I tell myself these things, and it helps me remember my own worth.

self help
16

About the Creator

jade darmawangsa

digital marketing is my bread and butter

https://www.instagram.com/jadedarmawangsa/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.