Motivation logo

5 False Beliefs About Working On Your Dreams

Are you interested in starting a business?

By Damian PetersPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

Are you interested in starting a business? Are you interested in writing a book? Are you looking to pursue a creative career? There's a false belief for every yes. These false beliefs have been ingrained in society to the point that many people don't believe they can follow their dreams. You are either told it doesn't work, or that you are stupid for believing that you can succeed on that path. Many of us throw in the towel.

It is easy to choose to give up when it seems the easiest thing. Failure is frightening. Failing to achieve our dreams is even more frightening. Many of us give up. It's too scary to think of failing, so it's much easier. It's easier to just give up. These false beliefs have shaped our lives. They have taken more than our dreams and ambitions, as long as we refuse to fight for what is rightfully ours.

This blog post will discuss 5 false beliefs. I hope it will help you see the truth and change your outlook. It is difficult to accept the reality when you hold on to these false beliefs. This reality is determined by what you do with your life, and where you want it to lead you.

You don't have the skills

This is a common story. As a child, I loved singing. This was the problem. It was a difficult task for me. I was tone-deaf and couldn't sing. I should have been discouraged by this, but it didn’t. I made a fool out of myself when I auditioned for the school singing competition.

I choked up on the song, and I can recall people trying to not laugh at me. As I practiced singing, I sang in private for two years. At nineteen years of age, I began writing lyrics. Everyone who saw me thought I wasn't up for it. I always wanted to be a singer and wanted to make it a reality. I auditioned in a regional singing contest when I was 18. I did not make it to the second round. But I did not give up. I tried again at twenty-one, but it was unsuccessful. My lucky break came at twenty-one, when I auditioned. I was able to sing my song and got through to the next round.

It was the day of competition, and I sang my heartout. I was second. If I had believed what they said about my sixteen-year-old self, I wouldn’t have pushed myself. I would not have finished second, and I wouldn’t have realized that singing was not the right choice for me. Our false beliefs are based on what others think we should be and not on who we really are.

You will need to work hard to realize your goals

It all depends on you. This can either be a yes answer or no answer. Some people are successful within ten years. People can also achieve their goals in as little as three to five years. This false belief must be thrown out. Many people believe it will take years for them to succeed.

We often miss opportunities because we get too caught up in what it should look like. My dream was to become a singer. I imagined singing on stage in front millions of people and winning a Grammy. That was not what I did. But, I sang in a room with two hundred and more people. Although I was able to achieve my dream on a smaller scale I still found myself.

If you pursue your dreams, you will also find yourself. You might not get the results you expected, but it could be that you discover another dream. If you believe in yourself, you can take your dream to places you never thought possible. Your potential is greater than you could ever imagine. You are not finished with your story. Keep moving forward and you will reach your dreams in no time.

As long as you keep at it, your dream won't take too much time to realize. It is much easier than ever to realize your dreams with all the technology and courses available.

Success is

Many people don't realize this and stop following their dreams. It will make them miserable. This is similar to the money is the root cause of all evil mantra that we were taught as children. These intangible objects can't change your mind. You have no control over success or money. These are the results of hard work. It's like saying the penthouse you always wanted will make you a selfish, spiteful, and evil person.

The penthouse cannot change your identity, but it is not as though the penthouse could. It's a lie because success is more frightening than we imagine. It is easier to say that I don't want change because of X,Y, or Z. But I know that fame, money, and success don't make you different. They just highlight your strengths. The manipulative, evil person who is successful becomes even worse. When they are wealthy, your greedy associate or coworker will only get worse.

Your success will be evident if you are generous. You will be the best version of yourself. This false belief is what's stopping you from pursuing your dreams and becoming a success.

It's impossible to make money with your dreams

This was more difficult in the 1990s than it is now. This argument was valid back then. This false belief is no longer valid. Nowadays, it is much easier to make money with your dreams than in years past. You don't need to be a struggling artist living off Ramen noodles. You don't need to dream about a distant future while you sleep.

You don't need to see movies of people living their dreams. The internet has opened up a new world of possibilities that can change the outcome for the better. YouTube has made average Joes the next generation of Influencers. TIK Tok is doing the same.

Millionaires are made from poor children who jet set and live in houses that are reserved for the wealthy. It is possible to make money with your dreams. Let this sink in. Do not believe the lies that society tells you. Your manuscripts, your choreography, your poems, your artwork, your poetry, and the art that you have hidden from the world can all make you money. Your ideas don't have to be worthless. Stop imagining that your start-up won't see the light of day. Believe in the promise for a bright, imperfect but promising tomorrow.

Your negative thinking patterns can't be changed

I was a negative person. I was not a believer in positive thinking. It took me years to see that I could make a change. I began to see the possibilities of a brighter future and my patterns changed. This false belief must be stopped. Anybody can make a change if they wish.

As a child, I heard that leopards can't change their spots. This is absurd. Although a leopard cannot change its spots, you can still be more. Freud said that personalities develop in five children. This is partially true. We can still make changes. We can still change our core beliefs and become more. Growing up, I was ambitious. I was a dreamer. That person is me.

I do have systems that help me to understand my dreams. I'm more than willing to learn about myself and have positive thinking habits. Anybody can make a change in their lives. These are the stories of homeless people, cleaners, and janitors who have become billionaires. Imagine what this person would have to go through to change their beliefs. Imagine yourself homeless fighting for your dreams. What bravado would you need to have to do that?

What's the stopping factor for a homeless person becoming a billionaire? You are the only one who can stop you from reaching greatness. See the possibilities that are available to you. This will allow you to achieve your goals faster. Don't let false beliefs get in the way of you achieving your goals. Instead, hold onto something greater. There is great potential. This is something that we should all be proud of.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.